We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to beach access & more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient to beach access & more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

stayed here in September 2012: rooms clean and very large, continental breakfast better than most; price very reasonable; beach access is good -- one block walk to a quiet and comfortable part of the beach, not far south of the center of Bethany Beach.

Have stayed here before; will stay again; staff is very nice, common areas are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: very convenient to beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are very lucky to have such a wonderful location in the heart of Bethany Beach, it does make visiting all of Bethany’s great sites and restaurants very easy. We are glad that you took advantage of our amenities and we greatly appreciate your glowing compliments. We hope your next stay with us is longer. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    131
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
136
91
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked for 5 nights at this Bethany Beach HEI only to find that they billed our credit card more than one month in advance for the entire 5 days. They use the word "Deposit" online when booking to describe the fact that they are going to bill you for the entire amount ahead of time.

They also give no refunds of any odf this amount when you cancel - even if its done one month in advance - all of this apparently to offer you a better nightly rate.

We canceled anyway and will refuse payment with the CC company.

Horrible ethics and communication. We will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn Express again. Garbage. Not only that, but this review will be placed online in dozens of spots and we'll tell everyone we know.

How much does it cost to treat someone ethically and fairly? What is the cost when you do the opposite?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I am so sorry you feel this way. Unfortunately with the deep discounted rate you chose there were stipulations. You must have missed this clause that was listed above the rate you chose.

"Book Early & Save - Advance Purchase Looking to stretch your travel dollars? Lock in special savings just by booking early and purchasing your stay in advance. Reservation requires full prepayment for the entire stay at the time of booking, and is non-refundable. Payment is charged to your credit card between the time of booking and day of arrival."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. As others mentioned, there are practically zero lodging choices without 3 or more nights minimum during this time of the year. I think the revenue management folks know this and take of this fact. It was the most expensive HIE I've ever stayed in. With that in mind I was disappointed to find that the linens and mattresses were worn and could stand to be refreshed. Also the room was pretty musty, further to the point of tired furnishings. The continental breakfast was no frills but adequate. Aside from these comments, You can't beat the location. It's a short walk to the beach or to the boardwalk restaurants, and shops. In conclusion, I would likely be less critical of the price paid for this property if itmwere up to the same standard of other HIE properties I've stayed in, due

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sacdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I recently read your comments concerning the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced. I will address your concerns with ownership and also the housekeeping staff and I wil alsol stress that attending to the details is of the upmost importance when it comes to room cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A bit expensive if you think this property is at Bethany Beach not at New York city. However the service is friendly and helpful, the staff is always ready to solve your questions, the location unbelievably close to the beach, an easy walk, and the rooms are spacious and clean. This is a very good option when you go to Bethany beach..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paticowashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments. We strive diligently to offer excellent service and a great vacation with the intimate feeling of a bed and breakfast. We are excited that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed with my family here in late August for four nights. The hotel was clean and very quiet at night, with a nice family oriented clientele. As other reviewers have said, there are few lodging choices in Bethany Beach unless you are there for a whole week or more and renting a condo or time share. We find Holiday Inn Express hotels a reliable choice when we travel and this one was no exception. My only complaint would be that the bedding seemed tired - I have had much comfier mattresses at other HIE's so I am not sure why the beds haven't been updated. Also the pillows are fiberfill and I think I have had the option of feather ones (which I much prefer) at other HIE's. As some have said, towels were sometimes in short supply but I found by leaving a kind note and daily tip addressing this issue that the extra effort was made to take care of our needs. I was able to observe how overwhelmed and hard working the maid staff was at this hotel and we weren't even there during the busiest time of the summer! (so hats off to them!) Also, the ladies at the front desk went above and beyond in terms of service on more than one occasion; theirs is not an easy job and I hope that management acknowledges the fine job they are doing! I would stay here again if visiting for only a few days otherwise it may be more cost effective to look at a weekly rental.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you and your family for visiting us at The Holiday Inn Express in Bethany Beach!
Our Crew is focused on making your stay truly spectacular, which includes superior customer service and friendliness. We are so happy that you noticed.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns about our amenities. If the bed was too soft please ask for a bed board on your next visit.
Thank you for giving Holiday Inn Express Bethany the opportunity to accommodate you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's nice. Chocolate chip cookies are served at the front desk. Breakfast was hot and yummy. My internet access was denied after I watched several movies on line, but it was re-instated. The location was great, only a couple of blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for one night in Bethany Beach at the Holiday Inn Express. The location is wonderful--walking distance to the beach and boardwalk area and close to area restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean and met our needs. I didn't have any breakfast, but the choices looked ample for all preferences. Fresh cookies were available at the front desk when we checked in. If you need a place to stay in Bethany Beach, this is a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the4britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Your kindness and thoroughness is greatly appreciated. It's refreshing to see we provided top notch service. Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely and all encompassing review. Are locations its fantastic also the hotel looks great due to the new renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing