We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, nice rooms, mediocre mattress, a/c smells funny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, nice rooms, mediocre mattress, a/c smells funny”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The service is outstanding at this HIE. The front desk, the ladies that serve breakfast, the cleaning staff. Everyone was really nice and helpful. My wife and 2.5 year old son and I checked in quickly and easily, they gave us a quiet room far from the elevator+vending, even showed me a layout of all the rooms on a chart.

The rooms are spacious, the furniture is nice, granite countertops, small sink with mike+fridge, plenty of space for our stroller and beach junk. LCD tv was decent and free wifi.

The mattress was just mediocre, not impressive at all. Bedding was very good. The AC unit gave off a funny smell and like most hotels, you can't open the windows. You kind of get used to it after a while though. it wasn't horrible, but wasn't pleasant either. The wifi slows to a crawl in the evening, so forget about streaming netflix. Lights are CFL. Everything was clean/spotless. Water pressure on 3rd floor was mediocre / typical.

Breakfast is standard fare, we're vegetarians, so limited to bagels, muffins and cereal. No fruit was put out, but they saw my son fussing and brought a banana for him (again great service in the breakfast room). Next day breakfast room was packed so they overflowed us into a conference room.

TIP: get breakfast early, the room fills up by 8:30 and stays full til 9:30 when breakfast ends.

TIP: on your last day, even though you check out in the AM, you can go to the beach all day and come back to the hotel and take a shower at the pool restroom/shower.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, get to breakfast early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBerg, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you, Rickster81, for taking the time to submit your review via TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate when guests take the opportunity to share their experiences with other would-be guests of our hotel. I have already posted your review for the staff to read by our timeclock. They love seeing their hard work and service recognized and they are constantly looking for ways to up the ante. Thanks for your bit of inspiration!
I'm sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your mattress. We do use Serta Perfect Sleepers as our standard mattress and I'm wondering if you felt it was too soft? If that's the case, please let us know next time your our guest as we do have bedboards on hand to place under the mattress, providing a somewhat firmer sleep surface.
Regarding the A/C unit, I wonder if water has collected inside the unit and perhaps stagnated? I do hope you reported your concern to the Front Desk as this is easily rectifiable.
I also appreciate your tips - you are right on the money! Specific to breakfast, as the breakfast menu has expanded to provide more offerings, guests tend to linger longer in the breakfast bar making seating difficult when occupancy is peaking. We do open the meeting room to accommodate the overflow, but coming down a little earlier is definitely a good recommendation.
Thank you again for your submission and we hope to service your next stay to our beach town!

Best Regards,
Chris Berg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    131
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
136
91
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

this hotel lived up to its good reputation here...the staff is indeed friendly, and even funny in some cases!....we had a brand new room, very clean with extremely comfortable beds...breakfast came wuth more than we expected..no complaints.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had a little difficulty finding the place at first, but it was well worth the search. Breakfast every morning was good with a nice variety of food. The hotel was clean and the staff were super acomodating. The innkeeper is from Pittsburgh, Pa which is where we are from. Also some of the other guests we met were from Pittsburgh as well.. I would definitely recommend staying here if there are only two or three of you traveling together It was a nice walk to the boardwalk at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j9love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDS08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you for another vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed here on New Years eve weekend and was very pleased. It's nice to be welcomed by such a friendly staff. I believe the man working was named David. He was very sweet and helpful in telling me good places to eat and visit around the area. My room was nice also and beds very comfortable. Wish they had more fluffy blankets though. I will be staying here again in the future forsure :)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekBeauty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDS08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are in the process of renovation and will be finished by mid-May.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

While not exactly on the beach like the expensive condos like Sea Colony, it was only a 5 minute walk to the beach. I had my young daughter with me and was a little nervous about having to cross a busy road with traffic, but Holiday Inn Express was on the right side more busy highway 1, so it was never an issue. The free breakfast saved us so much time and was really very good - lots of fresh fruit to choose from along with heavier fare as well. All in all, it was the best deal in town. A little bit of a walk to the boardwalk, but the walk was no more than 10 minutes. I can't wait to go back and stay there next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDS08, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you, mmm183, for taking the time to submit your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful time while visiting our hotel, and the Bethany Beach area. We will look a little different when you visit us in 2011. We just began our full renovation to our guest rooms so I'll be eager to hear your feedback when you arrive! Thanks again for allowing us to service your visit to the beach. Happy New Year!

Babbi Slack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Every contact with the desk staff was positive. They are friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. On check-in, when I emphasized we'd requested a really quiet room, we were instantly moved further down the hall on the fourth (top) floor. We got a couple of good restaurant recommendations. One of the business center computers wasn't working, and they fixed it as soon as we reported it. The facility has been refurbished and is very clean (the decor remains kind of 80s, though). Beds have linens but no bedspreads. The room we had (ocean view between some tall buildings) was surprisingly large, and could have accommodated a sofa bed or cot in addition to the two queen beds. Micro-fridge and microwave would be very convenient for a longer stay to save money. Two block walk to the beach and you can walk to the town center. The usual breakfast bar (hot and cold food, many healthy choices) improved the value of this somewhat pricey hotel (but the beach in September is still "in season.")

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I Arranged a mini-vacation to Bethany Beach in August 2010 and chose Holiday Inn Express at Bethany Beach because of the reviews. At check-in the staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel was everything good that the reviews claimed. The walk to the serene beach was only minutes away and was less crowded than the Bethany boardwalk beach. The cleanliness of the hotel and our room made us feel very comfortable and relaxed with our hotel choice. The decor was cheerful and nice. Our free morning breakfast bar was more than we expected from a hotel with many choices from excellent coffee to delicious egg omlets, sausage, bacon, cereal, fruit, fruit salad, muffins, rolls, juices and more. Everything was so delicious, a great way to start our day. We also enjoyed the clean pool and excercise equipment after our afternoons at the beach. The location was perfect, nestled between Rehoeboth Beach and Ocean City, we were able to explore several beachs and boardwalks easily. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to do it again next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverkaylijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing