We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this place to be very disappointing in every way”
Review of Off the Hook

Off the Hook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OFF THE HOOK is located in Bethany Beach, DE. Our menu centers around the "ocean & farm to table" concept. Please come in and enjoy great food and a full beer, wine and liquor selection. * Fresh * honest * local * NOTE - the menu on Tripadvisor is outdated and cannot be changed. Go to offthehookbethany . com for the most accurate menus.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Found this place to be very disappointing in every way”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a disappointment. Our waiter could not have been ruder or less interested. Don't know his name because he never said it or anything more than was absolutely necessary. My husband got the roasted chicken and I got the scallops. Bland and underwhelming. Best part of the meal was the free bread. What a waste of money. Cannot understand the rave reviews. Maybe everyone got liquored up before eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    137
    35
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner...but lots of kids!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived shortly after 6 on a Monday evening. 15 minute wait during which we ordered drinks to have outside. Table next to us was 5 kids approximatley 10 and under whose parents were seated at a separate table. Kids will be kids, just prefer an adult dining experience. Our meal was excellent (calamari, crab cakes, cioppino), but could not understand why children's menu is offered. There were easily a dozen adults waiting to be seated while five kids ate mac and cheese. Seems wasted revenue, not to mention a bit of a turn off as a diner (who also has children). Would go back, but with a more careful eye to where we'd be seated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh and delicious food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We tried to get in a few different times but the wait was too long (bound to happen in a resort town with a small space). We finally decided to go as soon as they started serving dinner at 4:30. We had crab cakes and scallops. The scallops were served with bacon corn and grits. What a great flavor pairing! The scallops were perfectly cooked as well. The crab cake was full of fresh crab and not much filler which was wonderful. Best seafood we had yet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best farm-to-table food in Bethany”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous service and amazing food, time after time. Go early to avoid a long wait, and be sure to save room for dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmille46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't make promises you can't keep.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

On two separate occasions, we've called to ask if they can do anything vegetarian. Both times, they stated that the chef could do something special for us. Both times they did not, and said they did not say they could. Will definitely not come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Hook also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing