We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addy Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A wonderful place - be sure to reserve one of the ocean front rooms - set right on the beach. Watch the sunrise, then enjoy a delicious breakfast and then head back to the beach for a walk, read or just enjoy the sun & sand!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Addy Sea last June and would definitely go back. Very relaxing. The location, right on the beach (but away from the noise of the shops on the tiny boardwalk down the road), can't be beat. We found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. Loved lounging in the shade on the big porch. Breakfasts were very good as are the snacks in the p.m. They have beach chairs, etc. for use and a cooler stocked with cold beer and other drinks on the porch for guests. Perfect after a day on the beach, bike riding, shopping, or whatever you end up doing. We love our kids, but it was a nice getaway without them (no kids allowed here...they would be bored, no TV or video games, yay!)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms on an upper floor, so we had a view of the ocean and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopalong296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our third visit to the AddySea and we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful little B&B on the beach at Bethany Beach. We always go out of season so can't comment on what it is like in summer. At Easter it was quiet and perfect for just relaxing, watching the ocean, reading, taking long walks on the beach. No TV but wifi in the public areas. The rooms overlooking the ocean are the best, No 6 on the north corner has great views if a little quirky - a shower in a closet, a toilet in another and wash basin in the room. But that is what makes this place different. There is a lovely lounge with fire in the winter and the breakfasts are special. The building could do with a little attention , but as we left the contractors were starting on the roof and we were told there are plans to renovate the exterior and add a balcony.

Room Tip: The best, and most expensive, are the three that overlook the ocean, particularly the two corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 11 the first part of November 2012. At first glance it seemed to be very nice. One concern we had is that they do not have key locks on the doors; when you go out you cannot lock your room so do not leave any valuables in your room. Needless to say when we went shopping we had to keep a lot of things in our car locked up (items we bought, our camera, jewelry, and other valuable items.) There are locks on the inside so you can lock your room at night.The blind looked like it had chewing tobacco on it and the Jacuzzi was not well kept, the sprayer did not work and the bottom of the Jacuzzi was sharp due to some of the covers were missing on the jets; needless to say it took some of the romance away. I will say the breakfast was great and plentiful; it would have been nice if it was a bit earlier since we are early risers. I also thought they would have tried to keep the place as much as possible the same time period but instead they cut corners where ever possible and went cheap.

Room Tip: Look for a sea side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have had our eye on the Addy Sea for a long time and finally came for a mid-week winter break, taking advantage of the $99/night special. We stayed in room 11 which was lovely with an ocean view and a two-person jacuzzi. The B&B was very quiet at this time of year so we were able to fully relax and enjoy afternoon tea, reading the paper next to the downstairs fireplace and watching the ocean from the front porch. It's a great romantic getaway off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miliestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have stayed here twice, first time on second floor with some beach view, 2nd time - full beach front room. Very cozy, very good food, quiet location. We visited in the off season to just relax, shop, walk the beach, eat at some good restaurants. Short walk to the very small town and boardwalk area. Just wonderful. Btw, they do not have tv's,, which I like very much - there's always someone in vicinity with it on too loud, so - the Addy Sea owners just dropped that option - wise move.

Room Tip: Book early for the 2 front rooms with full ocean view on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pootershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent an end-of-summer getaway at the Addy Sea. Not our first stay here, and they never disappoint. It's an older crowd, no kids under 21 allowed. That spells q-u-i-e-t. We highly recommend Room #6 for its ocean-front view and sea breezes. They provide a freshly prepared breakfast (it's a B&B, after all) with a bagged lunch and afternoon tea. Plus guests have their own refrigerator to store their personal food and drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.5 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
12.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
885 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,662 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addy Sea

Property: Addy Sea
Address: 99 Ocean View Pkwy, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing