We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing B&B for some off season quiet and romantic time at the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addy Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B for some off season quiet and romantic time at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have had our eye on the Addy Sea for a long time and finally came for a mid-week winter break, taking advantage of the $99/night special. We stayed in room 11 which was lovely with an ocean view and a two-person jacuzzi. The B&B was very quiet at this time of year so we were able to fully relax and enjoy afternoon tea, reading the paper next to the downstairs fireplace and watching the ocean from the front porch. It's a great romantic getaway off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miliestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have stayed here twice, first time on second floor with some beach view, 2nd time - full beach front room. Very cozy, very good food, quiet location. We visited in the off season to just relax, shop, walk the beach, eat at some good restaurants. Short walk to the very small town and boardwalk area. Just wonderful. Btw, they do not have tv's,, which I like very much - there's always someone in vicinity with it on too loud, so - the Addy Sea owners just dropped that option - wise move.

Room Tip: Book early for the 2 front rooms with full ocean view on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pootershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent an end-of-summer getaway at the Addy Sea. Not our first stay here, and they never disappoint. It's an older crowd, no kids under 21 allowed. That spells q-u-i-e-t. We highly recommend Room #6 for its ocean-front view and sea breezes. They provide a freshly prepared breakfast (it's a B&B, after all) with a bagged lunch and afternoon tea. Plus guests have their own refrigerator to store their personal food and drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights during a holiday week, and enjoyed the second floor corner room #6 facing the beach and looking north. For a renovated Victorian home and then guest house, the king bed was very comfortable, room had a seating area, air conditioning was great despite very hot weather, towels plenty and soft, and a small but private toilet, shower stall and sink. The sloping and occasional squeaking floors provided the historic character, along with old photos of the place from the early 1900's, but the free the wi-fi was great. The parlor and dining room were comfortable and cool with lots of comfortable wingbacks, and the wrap around porch was great for reading in a rocking chair or eating a meal at a wicker chair and table. The place sits amidst green lawns and flowers right behind the dune, and the beach is wide and sand soft and clean. Beach towels and chairs are provided, and umbrellas can be rented on the other side of the dune. The breakfasts were great, with 6 types of fruit, muffins and toast, an egg dish, breakfast meat, pancakes or waffles, and juice and coffee/tea. Good sandwiches were provided for lunch on request. Afternoon tea was served with baked goods. Coffee and tea, water and soda, and chips are available all day. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and the other guests also happy and chatted, including a couple planning their wedding at the Addy Sea, a mother & daughter, two friends, and several couples younger and older. Overall, it was a relaxing and very nice stay, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank worldtraveler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Loved my experience here. The hotel staff was super helpful and very generously helped me surprise my girlfriend with a bottle of champagne. We stayed during a march getaway from Philadelphia and made thorough use of the en suite hot tub. Breakfast was top notch. The inn is set up in a way that really facilitates guests' interacting. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We choose this B&B for a nice quite Easter getaway after a rough few months. Great choice, great breakfast, good location. We stayed in room 9, had wanted room 12 but was booked. Our room had a better view. Only room 12 has a tv, at first we thought it was ok, but by the second day we did miss the tv, but we had internet so that helped. we did rest, and we needed it. everyone was very nice. room very clean. just wish we had tv!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I followed up a week in DC with a quick jaunt to the shore in Bethany Beach, DE. The Addy Sea was the prefect place for a retreat. We stayed in room #6 with a lovely view of the ocean. It didn't matter that the weather was a bit nippy, we had a relaxing, lovely time at the Addy Sea. There are many rooms with great views, lots of period furniture and old pics. Our room had a whirlpool spa for two, so that was lovely. We were within a 5 minute walk to the strip, and lots of great restaurants all around. What was especially nice was their accommodation of my challenging gluten-free diet. They took extra care to have a breakfast I could enjoy without concern and even made me gluten-free CUPCAKES for tea! This was so thoughtful and I was so touched. I did not ask for any special accommodation and they went out of their way - so lovely. In this special place, we were able to relax and enjoy all the shore has to offer. Thanks to Maggie and all the great staff - we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Get one with a ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.5 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
12.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addy Sea

Property: Addy Sea
Address: 99 Ocean View Pkwy, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9262
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing