We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a bed and breakfast that comes up to all your expectations, this is it!”
Review of Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addy Sea
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city ut. u.s.a.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you need a bed and breakfast that comes up to all your expectations, this is it!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent two nights at this gloriously situated b/b. Think of victorian home, all the bells and whistles as far as the furnishings are concerned. Think of the beach right OUTSIDE the house and your window, if you are fortunate enough to get a sea view. Think of good china and a fine assortment for breakfast. My cousin married on the beach this weekend in perfact weather on the sand. Think of wrap around porch and gingerbread on the house. Think of a lazy breakfast in or outside and then wonderful beds and well appointed bathrooms. I am sure in summer this beach resort is overcrowded, as all are, but in October... dont think about not going, just do it and book the Addy Sea...you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view, open the windows and blinds and just listen and breathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jenstarJenstar
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I checked in with my mom at what we thought to be teatime only to be told "it's all over." Oh sorry, you just missed it, would you like to help yourselves to tea or coffee. The room looked like a over-frilled scene from Gone with the Wind --Aged linens and lace everywhere. My mom was promised a host of gluten-free baked goods but they were not prepared either. My parents left at 5:30 a.m., cutting short their stay after freezing in an uncomfortable bed. All that for $250 and a three-hour drive each way.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenstarJenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I just spent three nights at the Addy Sea with my daughter. We had room #2 which was fine except for one of the beds. The room has two queen beds, one with a nice comfy mattress, and the other that can only be described as hard as a plank. I mentioned it to the assistant manager who said that my comment was the first she had ever heard about the bed. Hard to believe. Otherwise the inn was lovely: delicious breakfasts, afternoon tea, and hotband cold drinks available 24/7. The location can't be beat. Although expensive, it's a lovely getaway for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Clean and tidy. Fantastic location on the beach. Reasonable prices. This is a quiet inn run very professionally. I was really impressed. Would give it five stars if the coffee/breakfast brought up to another level, but completely satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A wonderful place for a romantic getaway on our anniversary. A bit on the pricey side but definitely worth it. Easy access to the beach and lots of comfy chairs on the wide porches to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee. Plenty of yummy selections at breakfast in the gorgeous dinning room. Sinfully delicious afternoon tea snacks :) . Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinaTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

From the minute you pull up and see the beautiful old home you are amazing even more once you go inside. The entire house is furnished in period furniture...the fireplaces were had roaring fires in them...the entire house was spotless...the owner showed us our room...gave restaraunt info...but was not intrusize at all...room #11 had a wonderful view of the ocean...breakfast the next day was absolutely amazing!!! I cannot say enough good things about The Addy Sea!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PennyAnne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicott city, md.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I just returned from our 2 night getaway at the Addy Sea Inn. The location couldn't have been better, oceanfront!. The inn is a historic building with a lovely wrap around porch equipped with wicker chairs and white rockers. Our room was #12. It was in the back of the building at the top of the back staircase. This was convenient for us but, was also the bathing suit entrance. This meant everybody (most everyone) used these steps to get up to their rooms when coming off the beach. Not a problem during the day but at night we heard some guests coming and going a few times. Our room was very large and bright with many windows. There was a king sleep number bed and the only room with a tv. We could have survived without! The bathroom was small with a 2 person jacuzzi. We are not bath people, but made due. There was a hand held shower in the tub as well. We had a hard time figuring out the shower! It sprayed everywhere! Maggie, the manager told us about the hall bathroom if we wanted to take a shower. It had a shower stall. I guess some other rooms must have the same shower set up because the first day the hall shower got a lot if use! The breakfast (served 9-10 am) was wonderful. "The girls", made a homemade spread that was well worth the wait. During the summer months you can also ask for a bag lunch.The daily menu is posted near the dining room. You must inform the staff if you want a lunch by 10:30 in the morning.I had only one but it was very tasty chicken salad on croissant, bag of chips and soda or water. If you are coming to Bethany for only a few days the Addy Sea is perfect. It is a bit pricy but the location and food included makes it nice. Maggie was most helpful with anything we needed. Oh and the owner stopped in. He is a hoot as well as a fellow Hokie fan!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.5 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
12.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
116 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
932 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addy Sea

Property: Addy Sea
Address: 99 Ocean View Pkwy, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing