We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - poor service”
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
Ranked #32 of 78 Restaurants in Bear
Restaurant details
bear de
2 reviews
“Good food - poor service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoy breakfast at Bob Evans and probably go 3-4 times a month. This location is closest but lately we have been going to a different location. Strictly because of the service.

While I enjoy a friendly personable waitress, the last two times there, the waitress (same one) spends so much time chatting with customers (us included) that the food is cold by the time she brings it to the table. Try to get a coffee refill? forget it - be quicker to walk next door to mcdonalds to get a cup.

We actually had to mention to her that we needed to eat because we had somewhere to go before she left the table so we could eat (our now cold breakfast). And she really got miffed when we wanted to question what the 'specialty bread choices" were.

Fortunately we can travel another 4 miles to another Bob Evans

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Service, Friendly People”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lately with Finances on the low, my husband and I found eating at Bob Evans inexpensive. The drinks however are a little pricey, but it's free re-fils. The Chef there cooks up a nice meal and the hostess and waitresses are friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Service Went Above and Beyond”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had seen the signs a week earlier - "We will be closing at 7pm Sunday for the Super Bowl." We first thought, "Really?!" But following the local enthusiasm we understood it.

Not remembering the early closing after a day of shopping, we ventured into the restaurant about fifteen minutes from their early closing. We apologized when we saw no one else was in the restaurant, said we would use the restroom quickly, and then skee-daddle.

The hostess said that if we wanted to stay and eat, it would be alright. We made sure we wouldn't be stepping on anyone's toes, and graciously accepted.

The great thing about this visit was we literally had the place to ourselves. And we had the undivided attention of our waitress, the kitchen staff, and the manager.

We were never rushed. Our food was fantastic, the portions seemed a little larger than typical, too. Super Bowl Sunday, staying after hours, and they still put their utmost care into our meals. The waitress kept checking on us to make sure all was right, always smiling and pleasant.

On one separate occasion at this same restaurant, I could see the cook through the kitchen pass through - cleaning the upright freezer. He wasn't just wiping it down. He was keeping busy when there were no orders, he was thoroughly cleaning the stainless steel.

When I see the staff paying attention to detail like that, they automatically get my return business.

This visit on Super Bowl Sunday just cemented that fact, for me and our family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mysterytraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“friendly service and a nice meal at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I like going to Bob Evans for breakfast. Friendly service, great breakfast food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoseyK0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I really enjoyed myself, the food was good and the service was great!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Descia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing