We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Pool and hot tub area was very clean. Good, sufficient breakfast. All staff we interacted with were very helpful. We were visiting U.D. and was a little further than we had hope, but was close enough to visit campus. Rooms were well maintained and clean. There are a lot of restaurants in the area as well as a pizza shop in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

The staff at the Best Western Plus would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate such positive feedback, and are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. It is our top priority to provide guests with great service, clean accommodations, and glad that you enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Thank you again choosing the Best Western Plus, please give us a call the next time you are visiting the area!

Warm Regards,

The Best Western PLUS Bear Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 399 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I arrived late on Christmas night and found the hotel well lighted and safe. When I enter the staff greeting me with holiday greeting and were very friendly and professional. My check in was expedited quickly, which was appreciated as I was exhausted. Hotel was clean, quiet and updated. The Breakfast area was clean and well stock even though I arrived close time of it closing. It is easy to get to access via Rt 1, I95 or Rt 40. If you are going shopping the Christiana Mall is only a few miles away. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lorielewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for the many compliments about our hotel. It is always great to hear how we are doing and to know how our guests perceive our hotel and our added touches.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Happy New Year!

The Best Western PLUS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Convenient, attractive hotel, with friendly staff, and reasonably priced. Happy to find such a nice hotel for which we have rewards membership that is also pet-friendly for a small charge. Several nearby restaurants. Stewarts brew-pub had an excellent beef brisket sandwich. Not too far off I-95.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you, your family, and your pet enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed Stewart’s, we will pass this along!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Happy New Year!
The Bear Best Western PLUS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Room was clean. Staff friendly and eager to be helpful. Shower rod was pulling from wall, not corrected even though it was pointed out. Beds comfortable. Breakfast okay, but eggs were cold and overcooked. Check=in and out was fast and easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We want to thank-you for not only choosing to stay with us, but also for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay.

I do apologize that we failed to address your concerns of the shower rod during your stay, It is our standard practice to attend to our guest concerns as quick as possible to avoid any inconvenience to our guests, we are sorry that we failed to do this during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Everything was clean but the care of the rooms was noticeable. Almost everything was stained. The full hot breakfast was the biggest perk and was really clean and nice. Management works in the daytime so if you have issues they won't be addressed until dawn. Staff was so great but the owner should be avoided he will not make you feel welcome

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Please except our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to ensure that each and every guest experience is satisfying, and we failed to do that for you.

All of your concerns are very important to us; and we are taking it very serious and have been address in appropriate manner.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. You can reach me directly at 302-326-2500.

Again we apologize for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The first impresions are the musty smell and the very plain, semi-dated decor. The price for the overall value of the hotel was high. This Best Western Plus does not deserve the "Plus". It was a 3.0 on a scale of 5 with the breakfast and fitness room pulling my rating to 3.0. Without those two amenities, this hotel is rates a solid 2.0.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,

The Bear Best Western Plus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is very impressive. The staff is courteous, the manager is active in greeting guests and the rooms are clean. I have stayed here many times, recommended to others and have not been disappointed. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S, Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review and the kinds words of our staff and quality of the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Happy Holidays!
The Bear Best Western Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.4 mi away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn

Address: 875 Pulaski Hwy, Bear, DE 19701-1252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range: $89 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing