We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Haven during a Hurricane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

When catastrophic hurricanes are forecasted, my wife and I usually try to find a hotel made of concrete during the storm. Due to good previous experience with Best Westerns, we chose to stay here.

Most of the standard rooms were already full or awaiting guests when we checked in because there was a large group of emergency workers staying at the hotel. No problem, we booked a King Suite with a jacuzzi tub.

As we entered the room, we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel definitely deserves its "Plus" rating. This room was the nicest I've stayed in in a long time. All of the furniture looked very clean and new. The room featured a desk, entertainment center with fridge and microwave, a large HD tv, two nightstands, an electric fireplace, a bench, a king bed, a large jacuzzi tub, and a regular shower in the bathroom. I was very impressed. The bed was very comfortable (soft) and I slept perfectly through two nights of heavy rain and wind. In fact, if I had kept my drapes drawn and the news off, I could have totally missed the hurricane. The jacuzzi was very comfortable. The room was very quiet throughout the storm.

The continental breakfast in the morning featured coffee, juices, pastries (bagels, breads, etc.), eggs, bacon, waffles and cereals. The breakfast area was very open and comfortable and the food was good. The coffee at breakfast and in the room at this hotel is just as I would make it at home.

The hotel also features a pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The wifi at the hotel was extremely fast.

If you're staying and there isn't a hurricane raging outside, the hotel is close to several attractions. The Christiana Mall is only about ten minutes up Rt. 1 North. Dover (probably good for the NASCAR races) is about 45 minutes South on Rt. 1 S. Wilmington and Newark are only twenty minutes away as well. Staying at this hotel, you could easily reach many of the attractions in Delaware without actually staying in those areas which would be more cramped.

Overall, I was very impressed during my stay at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana. The service was friendly and I felt safe and comfortable throughout the Hurricane.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for the great review and for enjoying our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the immaculate shape our hotel is in. We hope you choose our hotel again in better weather conditions so you can enjoy the surrounding areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Here is to clean rooms, comfortable beds, lots of hot water and a hot jacuzzi! We stayed 2 nights on the final leg of a 10 day road trip. This place was hands down best motel we stayed inn. Breakfast was plentiful and had bacon, eggs and fresh made waffles. Very convenient day trip to Philadelphia, Atlantic City. Beautiful scenery right here in Brandywine Valley. A must do is historic New Castle and lunch or dinner at Jessops Tavern!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socaltraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and the surrounding areas. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice and accommodating. I like that the lobby has a small lounge area to relax and a large place to eat. It's has a welcoming feel about it. The rooms are outfitted nicely and they have microwaves which is a great perk if you want to heat up last nights dinner. Check in and check out were fast and efficient.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank lexycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for recently visiting our hotel and sharing your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our lounge area, and found our room amenities beneficial. Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with our customer service. We hope that in the future you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Rooms were very nice, but the maid service was awful. They made the bed and replaced the towels, but that was all for 4 days. Had to go to te desk to get toilet paper. Shower curtain smelled of mildew. They could use more H/C parking too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha P, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to explain your dissatisfaction with our service. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests and apologize for the inconvenience this situation caused you.

We attempt to provide superior service and accommodations to all our guests. We have taken the necessary action to ensure similar situations such as yours can be avoided in the future. We welcome the opportunity to improve in the future.

We sincerely hope that if you are in our area again, you choose to give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We also stayed at this hotel as part of a large group. The price was very reasonable, and the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was friendly and very accomodating especially when we used their meeting room for a "quick" team party. The free conitinental breakfast was decent, although the selection was somewhat limited. But again, it was free and did the job. The view out of our window looked out over an RV and boat storage facility, so I kept looking for Walter White to jump out of an RV (insert Breaking Bad reference here). Not a big deal at all, it is what it is. But all in all, it was a pleasant stay at a nice hotel, and I would not hestitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yazkazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

The Best Western Plus would like thank you for the great feedback regarding your team’s recent stay here at our property. I appreciate you taking the time to give a detailed description of your experience. The comment about the breakfast was one that we will take a closer look at. That said, the Best Western Plus would be happy to accommodate your team again in the near future and we like to thank you again for staying with us. Feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went as part of a large group. They were very accommodating and had a nice conference room to gather in. Clean, convenient and comfortable. Pool area was nicer than other hotels we've been to lately; nicer and bigger pool and deck area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLP741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your teams’ accommodations experience here at the Best Western Plus. The Management and Staff are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback really warms our hearts because we have been working hard on accommodating our guests’ needs and give them a true positive experience. We hope to see your group again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to DC. Check in was quick and staff was friendly. $15 pet fee which isn't too bad. Right off the highway with plenty of restaurants in the area. Room was clean. Breakfast was complimentary but was very limited in selection and food and coffee was bad. We ended up getting breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzielorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Please accept our sincere apologies for our breakfast service did not meet your expectation. I can understand that it can be frustrating when you don’t have good cup of coffee first thing in the morning. We have addressed your concern with our staff and our vender. Although Best Western Plus is glad to here your enjoyed our newly renovated clean and comfortable room. We thank you for staying with us and hope to have you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
284 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
374 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn

Address: 875 Pulaski Hwy, Bear, DE 19701-1252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing