We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, slow service”

The Oak on the Green
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A PRIVATELY OWNED FRESH FOOD RESTAURANT AND FREE-HOUSE PUB FAMOUS FOR FANTASTIC SERVING STAFF AND FOR SERVING THE BEST AGED SCOTTISH STEAKS AND HOME MADE PIES AND PUDDINGS.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, slow service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited bank holiday Monday for an early dinner. It was buys but not heaving ...managed to find car spaces for two cars and there were lots of available tables.

Food was ok (burgers huge and quite nice, chips lovely. Piri piri quite dry and their special rice is a bit like the microwaveable rice).

Dessert was lovely too but waited half an hour for a slice of banoffe and two kids ice creams.

Would visit again but without the kids, if slow service is to be expected again!

Oh and the incorrectly billed us for drinks so we had to wait longer for that, and no word of apology for something which was their error.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    418
    156
    58
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderfully tasty food & great service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went here, when glamping at Leeds Castle. We popped in on a busy Saturday afternoon, not expecting to get a table. We we served very quickly. Amazing, as it's such a popular place.

We were glad that we didn't order a starter as the portions were enormous. When the menu said that the sausage & mash had large sausages, they were enormous. And absolutely gorgeous. My husband had the ribs and they must have come from an enormous animal. The food was amazing and excellent value for money and, if we're in the area again, we'd definitely go back.

Decor very olde worlde. Staff very chatty and attentive and overall a lovely country pub on the green.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxxhodgexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“expensive pub food!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

after work one evening in July decide with the wife to go for a meal,we headed to Bearsted Green as I new there were a couple of eating places. We decided to give The Oak a try, as it was a nice evening people were sitting at the tables outside but we decided to go in. On entering there is a bar straight in front, tables to the left and right of the door and then further tables off round to the right of the bar and then leading into what must be the main dining area. Very few tables were taken so we decided to take a table only to be confronted with a rude "what are you doing" followed by "have you booked" from a women in her late 50's (she may ave been the manageress), now there is no station point and there was a lack of staff (it was between 7.00 and 7.30pm). Continuing in her same attitude she showed us to a table in front of the bar. However there was a wall mounted airconditioning unit blowing cold air and with the low ceilings it was blowing directly on to us, I asked the lady if it could be turned off and she said no as it will get very hot when people start to come in, after she left us it was apparent that the people on the next table were cold, so I turned it off. Me and the wife both decided on the scampi for the main skipping the starters, it took a while for the food to come out from ordering and when it did arrive there was a very big difference in the portions of scampi on each plate, the plates were full with chips, peas and plenty of salad. We decided to go for dessert the wife had gypsy tart which must be said was really light and "to die for" and I had the chocolate banana pancake which was nice. By 9pm the place was very busy so is popular with locals. Overall the food was good, the waitress very polite with good service manners but the mangeress needs to take a leaf out of her staffs book for politeness and people skills, a station point would also be good. The service score reflects the manageress not the waitress who gets a 4.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Busy but any good?”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The short answer is YES! Only loosing the full 5 because there was not drinks price list in the menu, other than that, this place is pretty much as the other reviews claim. Its a very popular place ( clearly people return time and time again ) which usually indicates that it's very good or very cheap! Well its not particularly cheap, therefore it must be great value, which was certainly the case on our visit. We enjoyed slow roasted pork belly and the gastro ribs, which where cooked to perfection, the portion was generous in relation to the price, we both struggled to finished. Our was bill £43.50 and his included 4x drinks and a side dish. Like others we would recommend skipping starters unless you have a big appetite! Only downside is, it is quite busy, although despite this the service was quite quick and the food was great! Conclusion: We would recommend, especially if your really hungry. Oh and as this is a freehold pub the beers are more interesting than most!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidiboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bland and lack luster”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Menu extremely overpriced for simple grill fare. The coleslaw was disgusting, dry and tasted sour. Nothing special about the ribs to justify the £15. Very standard pub grub avoid and go to a proper restaurant. No drink menu and very poor soft drink selection. Dreadful parking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prettyspeeches1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak on the Green also viewed

 

Been to The Oak on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing