We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Regular Favourite”

The Oak on the Green
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A PRIVATELY OWNED FRESH FOOD RESTAURANT AND FREE-HOUSE PUB FAMOUS FOR FANTASTIC SERVING STAFF AND FOR SERVING THE BEST AGED SCOTTISH STEAKS AND HOME MADE PIES AND PUDDINGS.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Regular Favourite”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We eat here a couple of times a month. There is a good selection on the menu and we have never had a bad meal. Service is always friendly and staff are attentive, but not overly so. We keep going back, so I guess that says it all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ynotruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    418
    156
    58
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on a Sunday night and was lucky to get a table! Food is plentiful and the quality is great for the money. Excellent kids meals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lutonmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pub lunch”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on the way to ashford. We arrived at 12 on the Saturday and the restaurant was filling up quickly. Really extensive menu and it was hard to choose what to have. Went for the steak pie and mash and my partner had the sausage and mash. Both dishes were delicious. Beautiful setting on a green, highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeyjo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great food, friendly staff, great location reasonable prices, try it out, sister fish restaurant next door menu more limited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveclarke35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went back to the oak on the green last night,the pub was very busy which is normal for such a fab place to eat.the staff are alway's very friendly and helpful,and nothing is ever too much trouble for them.We have eaten there many times,lunch,eve and new year i have to say the food and service has alway's been excellent and very yummy!!i think it is also very good value for money.one of our favorite places to eat,loads of people i talk to about the oak also rave about it.the staff need a good pat on the back,they have got it right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theresaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak on the Green also viewed

 
Bearsted, Maidstone
 

Been to The Oak on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing