We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and value..........a rarity these days”

The Oak on the Green
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Privately Owned Fresh Food Restaurant And Free-house Pub Famous For Fantastic Serving Staff And For Serving The Best Aged Scottish Steaks And Home Made Pies And Puddings.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality and value..........a rarity these days”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was taken along with colleagues for dinner at the Oaks this week. The surroundings are quaint and traditional and the service professional and attentive. But by far and away the most impressive aspect of this restaurant is the food, closely followed by the value for money.

Ok so some of the dishes may come across as a little retro, prawn cocktail etc but for me that was a plus. My choice was nachos with chilli as an appetiser, appetiser with attitude , it was a generous start to the meal. Not only generous but damn good, tasty chilli, guacamole, salsa and salad leaves, and nacho chips, yum!

As for the main event, well , it had to be Rossini of course. My steak was stunning, rare to blue and again generous in size. Add to that a very tasty pâté and Madeira sauce to top it off, and some naughty chips to complete the dish.

The whole table of seven tried different dishes, from seafood to steak, there was nothing but praise for a very enjoyable meal. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Oaks as a quality place to eat that doesn't make you wince when the bill arrives

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAPFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    427
    159
    60
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go there unless you are desperately hungry”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just got back from The Oak on the Green and couldn't wait to write this review. The food there is absolutely fantastic. I had Chicken Fajita and it really is 'to die for' The prices are ludicrously cheap and the service was excellent. There is a very large free carpark behind. If it had 6 stars I would give it that !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bland food, very disappointed”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The verbose descriptions on the menu make every dish sound very tempting. However, my wife and I both decided to try the burgers for lunch which were tasteless and lacking any chargrilled flavour at all, the meat could have been of any origin. The salad accompaniment was similarly bland with half-ripe tasteless tomato and lettuce barely up to the standards of Sainsburys 'Basics' cheap salad. Priced at £11-95, it was a steal - from the management's side of the fence.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgbnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I visit The oak on the green on a regular basis, either for a 'swift half' or sit down meal and I must say, I have never been disappointed. The staff are always a pleasure to speak to, the food is always tip top and the atmosphere is busy but not horribly cramped. I will return!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steaklover1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been here very many times lunch & evening. Booked table for two for dinner to "celebrate" getting over the Xmas 'flu. This pub/restaurant is always packed, reflecting the good management, excellent professional & cheerful Staff (never failing under pressure) and the consistently excellent quality of the good-value food on the varied menu. How they do it is amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMILYEXPLORER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak on the Green also viewed

 
Bearsted, Maidstone
 

Been to The Oak on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing