We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buzzing saturday night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The White Horse - Maidstone serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“buzzing saturday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A party of 8 of us went to the white horse ,this is a very smart pub the place has a very buzzing feel and as soon as you walk in it feels welcoming the food was very good and the menu very varied ,everyone enjoyed the evening ,and is certainly on the list when next in Kent

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trusttaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    225
    138
    89
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a shame we don't live in Bearstead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Right from the start we had excellent customer service. We visited at 5pm on a Saturday and whilst the restaurant section did not open until 6pm, we were told that we could order from the restaurant menu but eat in the bar area, a laid back and delightful area which did not have the normal type of atmosphere of a pub. There was a variety of customers, from a group of young professionals enjoying a quiet game of cards, to families with their very well behaved children. As we were in the bar, we did have to get our own cutlery and order from the bar, but that is to be expected if dining early. Every single member of staff that served us during our meal really made us feel welcome. Food was excellent, we ordered fish pie and fillet steak, and white chocolate brulee & lemon curd and almond sponge cake (the latter being especially yummy, that was the one i ordered). Every detail was taken care of and my husband and I actually said during the meal how it is such a shame we don't live close by as we would come here all the time, not just for meals but also for a quiet drink or a coffee as we loved the atmosphere and staff here. Well done all, much better than your rivals over the green, which we would never frequent again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank trina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“such a lovely evening!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

my boyfriend and i visited the white horse in bearsted on friday evening for the first time, we had a lovely welcome and the attmosphere in the place was amazing!! we decided to have a started of asparagus with a poached egg and hollandise sauce and the mushrooms on brioche! they were both delicious! followed by the rump of lamb and the pork belly! they were gooooorge!! the service was really good and everyone was lovely. we had such a good evening we will definatly be back as we want to taste some more of the menu! dont listen to the bad reviews there just too picky, perfect food, service, atmosphere what else do you need? we will be back! thank you!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloeee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing .....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is lovely gastro-pub, in the centre of a very popular village, hence it is a very popular haunt for all ages - For drinking as well as eating. The interior is pleasing to the eye, warm and well staffed.
On being shown to our table we were presented with both the standard menu & the 'specials' menu. We chose the fish medley to start, which at over £10 we anticipated would be quite substantial and were advised it was, 'to share' by the waiter, but when it arrived there were only about 6 pieces of crispy white bait, 6 pieces of what were referred to as calamari on the menu (but actually the squid had no coating what so ever ) along with a mug of shell-on prawns, not even served with a wedge of lemon ! For mains I chose frommthe specials menu again, the skate wing with caper, olives & brown shrimp, samphire & noisettes, this arrived, the fish substantial, but drowned in butter, pretty tastless and with no potato - And at over £16 very disappointing. My husband's choice, the a house burger with mushroom and Gorgonzola served with Frits was a much better one, tasty and nicely presented. Desert was sticky toffee pudding, actually a slice of cake and ice cream, I had to request the sticky sauce as the 3 drops on the side of the plate didn't really fulfill my expectations of the 'sticky' in sticky toffee pudding.
There are a lot of nice gastro pubs around the Maidstone area, as well as similarly priced restaurants, which deliver a much better quality of food - so we will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HisNibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice food, service not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a party of 12 people, for an evening meal, the food was good, I had camberet to start to with which was to share but only had 4 small pieces of bread to go with it, so I had to ask for more bread, as we had lots of camberet leftover. I had the peri peri chicken for main, the chickens was very soft and moist, but the peri peri sauce was just tomato purée no kick at all and very bland, a little strange! For dessert I had chocolate brownie which was a real disappointment as the brownie was just a cake, no gooeyness at all and hardly any chocolate sauce, although other members of my party had perfect chocolate brownies so mine was obviously a rogue piece!
The service was a little slow, we was constantly waiting for someone to ask us for drinks and check that our meal was ok and the restaurant wasn't really busy at all, so couldn't understand why this was.
Would recommend this restaurant but I did feel it was a little over priced for the food, lovely restaurant though, nice open fires.

Helpful?
Thank lou98uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing