We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I booked a weekend stay at The Tudor Marriott Park in Maidstone as a relaxing getaway for my husband's birthday.
Although the hotel was in the process of being improved ( which I believe has now been fully completed and looks fantastic), the room we stayed in was of an excellent standard. Great care has been taken to co-ordinate the soft furnishings in the bedrooms which give a tranquil and relaxed feel.
The grounds are very pretty and the golf course(although on this occasion we didn't use) is beautiful and I have enjoyed playing it in the past.
We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed good food, pleasant staff and a lovely atmosphere, all in all a very relaxing and good value for money weekend.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    334
    131
    51
    30
See reviews for
176
318
25
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

I stayed in early 2008, they were undergoing major refurbishments which meant finding ones way around was a major headache and some facilities not available.

Positives:
Quiet, comfortable, clean, staff well-trained, some rooms have nice view

Negatives:
Somewhat sprawling, expensive, cold buffet breakfast miserable, 'corporate', TV not properly tuned

It is a short walk to the village of Bearsted which offers a couple of very good pubs, especially the 'Oak on the Green'

Would stay again but preferably after the decorators have moved on.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Absolute maze, 'comforts' only so-so considering luxury price tag
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

I stayed there last summer and am just getting around to my review now. I showed up in the middle of the night as a lost Canadian tourist. The night manager was the best ever and made me feel really welcome. Everything about the hotel and morning breakfast was the nicest I've seen. The worst thing was having to leave in the morning.

  • Liked — The manager's great attitude.
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieselDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

I'd like to write a full review of the hotel but as we only got to see the reception area this would be hard.
We were attending a family wedding in Maidstone and had booked a superior room online back in early October thinking we'd make a weekend of it. I had phoned in November to confirm the booking and received an email from the hotel 5 days before arrival to "welcome you to the Tudor Park" and stating that "we are preparing for your stay" (ha ha ,as it turned out.)
After the wedding ceremony we went to the hotel to check in and freshen up before going back for the evening reception. On arrival parking was a considerable problem, not because the car park was particularly full but because the majority of the empty spaces were coned off for no apparent reason. Eventually we parked and made our way to reception. There we were told (as if the receptionist was reading from a script and with no real sense of apology) that there was a problem with the room because of a "leaking sink". Not a major problem, we'll have a standard room. Sorry but the hotel is full and no other rooms are available. Right - okay, we'll have the room with the leaking sink then and make the best of it.
The receptionist panicked at this point and then I suddenly realised that this probably wasn't the problem and they had obviously double booked the room.
They then told us that they had made us a reservation at another hotel, however this turned out to be a Travel lodge on the motorway. As we'd already pre booked taxis to take us back and forth to the wedding this was going to be considerably awkward and besides, we 'd booked a "luxury hotel experience" (according to the website) NOT a Travel lodge.
When I explained this to the receptionist she appeared flummoxed and went back to the script and merely repeated the offer of another hotel and that we could use their phone to change the taxi arrangements.
At this point, rather than making a scene when it was clear that we were not going to get a room we decided to leave, go back to the wedding and put it down to experience. We did not stay in the Travel Lodge and we will NOT be booking a Marriott hotel again ( neither will the dozens of other guests we spoke to at the wedding that evening.)

  • Liked — Don't know, didn't get to see it!
  • Disliked — Casual attitude of the staff to overbooking rooms and letting people down
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend, 25 - 27 August. We were planning to visit the area around the Battle Of Hastings site and pull in a shopping trip to Bluewater on the way home.

The hotel is very nice, as are the staff. We were made to feel welcome and a couple of requests for information were met with helpful and pleasant replies.

Upon check-in, we were advised that there were a couple of wedding parties taking place on both of the nights of our stay but that our room was on the opposite side of the hotel so we shouldn't hear any noise.

The room was the standard Marriott type - clean and tidy with a nice, big, comfortable King bed. The weather was pretty hot during our stay but the air conditioning unit kept the room nice and cool. We were never disturbed by any noise.

We had a couple of drinks in the Piano Bar and it didn't seem that expensive (considering what hotel bars usually charge) and had a nice atmosphere.

We used the pool both mornings along with the sauna and steam room. It was never that busy so we were able to relax at our leisure. The changing room areas are rather tired-looking (as commented by a previous reviewer) but the entire hotel is being fully refurbished between 1 October 2007 and 31 March 2008.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, especially at the bargain price of £90 for the 2 nights. It served as a perfect base for our weekend and we will definitely stay there again when in that area.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennTheBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed for three days at this hotel in a superior room. The room was not that large considering we paid for the upgrade. The staff were exceptional and for this reason I would recommend this hotel. We had a few problems with the tv, marks on the duvet and not being able to get towelling robes to go to the spa. These problems were quickly resolved though it took 24 hours and asking again to get the bathrobes. Dinner was £27 for three courses and very acceptable. Breakfast was okay but I have had better. There is a golf course attached to the hotel for those who like to play. Not a cheap hotel but it was reasonably good.

  • Liked — quiet location and great staff
  • Disliked — rooms not very big
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

Terrible hotel badly needing an upgrade...even better..it needs demolished and rebuild.Main attraction is the Country Club...

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bearsted
2.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
13.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ashford Road, Bearsted, Maidstone EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Bearsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bearsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The woodlands of Epping Forest provide a stunning backdrop for your stay in Essex, England. Whether you're here for work or on holiday, the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel welcomes you with elegant accommodation, helpful amenities and stylish venue spaces. We're just a few moments from Loughton Underground Station, providing access to Central London; Stansted Airport and the M25 are a short distance away as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Maidstone
Maidstone Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing