We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Valentine's Day Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast at Taylor's Corner
Ranked #2 of 6 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another Valentine's Day Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second Valentine’s Day weekend in the Quiet Corner of Connecticut. Staying at the Taylor’s Corner Bed and Breakfast is something we look forward to all year. This is a 1731 farm house with all the charm and idiosyncrasies of a 280 year old house. It creaks and moans with the wind. The wide plank floors do the same when you walk on them.

The furniture is well suited to the colonial dating of the house. Each room has a working fireplace for a romantic evening. Brenda and Kevin have candles spread everywhere, encourage you to use them, including in the main fireplace downstairs.

We spent time in the “living room” with friend just talking. We spilled over to the dining room with the cats.

The website gives a great tour of the bedrooms.

We wish we could say more about the grounds, but both our visits were during snow storms. We did see them in the fall when we were harvesting grapes at the Taylor Brooke Vineyard next door. The perennials were in late bloom and gorgeous.

The two breakfasts that we enjoyed with Brenda and Kevin were very unique. French toast made from French bread with apples was my favorite.

The chocolates in the rooms are homemade by Brenda.

We made our reservations for the 2014 Valentine’s Day weekend already.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms but the Isaiah Tiffany room was our favorite. The Estella May Campbell room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob_cindy_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Brenda greeted us upon arrival and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. She gave us a tour of the house and showed us to our room. She and Kevin joined us the next day for breakfast (which she made, it was excellent) and we had great conversation. Brenda also gave us great recommendations for dinner. We would definitely recommend this property and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlduson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaylorsCorner, Owner at Bed and Breakfast at Taylor's Corner, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We're glad you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I just spent the week at Taylor's Corner while attending the Brimfield Antique show -- Brenda and Kevin couldn't have been more gracious!!!! Brenda gave us helpful directions and hints for navigating the area and show. The B & B was charming and the food was delicious! We hope to visit one day again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been staying at Taylors Corner for over 10 years because we have family in the area. Brenda and Kevin have always been very welcoming and we feel like old friends now. The people we meet at the breakfast table are always interesting, and the breakfast itself is always over the top. A good value, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I had our first night away from our children since they were born. We were invited to a wedding at the Lord Thompson Manor - but didn't feel like staying at the chain hotel the couple had a block of rooms at. We found a review of Taylor's Corner and thoguht about giving it a whirl. GLAD WE DID! Brenda and Kevin's most perfect spot, 1720, was built by a "house builder" - so it has all the bells and whistles of that time. Brenda and Kevin have picked out marvelous furniture and antiques to make it very cozy and special. It has all of the modern ammenities (parking, a cool car collection, internet, outdoor hot tub, and AC!), with a lot of old fashioned terrific "stuff" too (handmade soap, homemade granola, yummy breakfast, great grounds for walking). Its near a winery - which we didn't have time to get to - but ask Brenda and Kevin for recommendations re. the CT wine trail. OH - and I had a great sleep. Very cozy bed with terrific linens - fluffy towels and clean, clean, clean. Breakfast was fab and coffee was perfect. Hope I get back there soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Brenda and Kevin provided a wonderful Valentines weekend for us and our friends. We decided to take all three of the rooms as part of a weekend wine tasting and dinner excursion. The house is delightfully old with that New Englad historic character we were looking for. Flowers and home made chocolates waited for us in the rooms.

It was 12 degrees outside and the fireplaces in the bedrooms actually work!

Breakfast was perfect, with our hosts accommodating a variety of food related allergies with no problems.

Be advised that the four cats actually rule the B&B.

Ask Kevin to show you the barn filled with VW's in a wide range of completion.

There is pleanty to see and do the the far northeast corner of Connecticut and you are only an hour from Boston.

We already booked for next year.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms. No road noise. Get one of the rooms that overlook the pastures, just for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_cindy_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Taylor's Corner while in Connecticut for a wedding in May.

Being somewhat shy and avoiding anything stuffy, we typically avoid B&Bs.

That said, when it came to coming to this part of Connecticut for a wedding, we wound up choosing Taylor's Corner over a chain motel, and it was the right choice. The owners have taken great care with this fantastically-historic place (handmade soap in the bathroom! thoughtful/tasteful furniture!, sweet cats!), and as you will read in other comments, breakfast really nice.

Would definitely recommend staying here if coming out to the "sleepy corner" of Connecticut.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
11.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
414 reviews
8.8 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Putnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#11 of 14 in Sturbridge
632 reviews
12.0 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
2.0 mi away
Inn at Woodstock Hill
Inn at Woodstock Hill
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Taylor's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Taylor's Corner

Property: Bed and Breakfast at Taylor's Corner
Address: 880 Route 171, Woodstock, CT 06281-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic 18th Century Center Chimney Colonial, three guest bedrooms have queen beds, private baths, A/C, working fireplaces and high quality linens. Relax in any of the three common rooms, each with a real wood-burning fireplaces and old beehive ovens. Incredible breakfasts with high quality and locally grown ingredients, fresh baked goods and refreshments. Antique furniture and wide board floors decorate this 18th Century house listed on the National Register of Historic Homes. Lush perennial gardens and old stone walls surround the property.We are located just off Scenic Byway CT 169, surrounded by country roads for a leisurely drive. WIFI, satellite TV, DVDs and games are all available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing