We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and not worth it”

Sweet Evalina's Stand
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and not worth it”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I came in from Boston to visit family for Xmas..was famished so I thought I'd treat everyone out for a bite to eat. The only place open was Sweet evalina's...I don't know what I experienced..but it wasn't good. Ordered 2 pizzas, drinks from the cooler and the bill came to $56.
WOW..are you kidding me?...$20+ pizza eatin in a shack like atmosphere.
If I could only take that experience back. I don't mind paying a premium..but at least give me quality of food and at some atmosphere..I got neither..now i just feel cheated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mollie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    6
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southbridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wish it could be better”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I wish i could give this place rave reviews..especially since the area has few dining options...But the food at best is just ok..certainly pricey and the decor..or lack of decor is a real issue.
I remember when the present owners moved to town from New York City..I was hoping they'd make Sweet's a place to want to stop in an get a good meal..that really has happened..it's still
the same convenienece store with just ok fast food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
“not worth stopping”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

stopped today with some fellow employess for lunch..gps said it was nearby..got to agree with previous review..place was really small, dirty and loaded with teenagers hanging out.
Felt like i was back in high school lunch room..the food was same quality..low quality cafetaria
help yourself style..but suprisingly with high prices.
Got the chili, a sandwhich and left with heartburn..pass this one by..your better off
at the xtramart.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chase g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i don't get it?”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

stopped in this place yesterday for quick bite to eat...wish i used my smartphone to check the reviews..would have saved myself some money. What is this place?...is it a restaurant or a convenience store? it's honestly not good at being either..i found it to be dirty, loud, loaded with teenagers who have no clue what their doing there with overpriced medicocre food.

and seriosuely..who wants to sit down on old tables beside refrigerators and be overrun with teenagers while eating overpriced mediocre food cooked by a teenager? and as far as the bakery products are concerened?..your kidding me?.. at the register is a high school lunchroom dinining tray with an odd selection of muffins and unrefrigerated slices of pie.
the board of health really needs to check this place out. The ice cream which someone wrote was worth trying is not homemade..the sign says it's made by hershey's. this is the ice cream you can get at any gas station/convenience store .


i

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blakecarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
putnam, Ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sweet Polly in charge”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where to start? At the check-out counter, fresh huge muffins, cookies and homemade pies. Pumpkin, Apple, Blueberry have gone home with me. Order standing up near the kitchen- they bring to wherever you're sitting. Grab some coffee, or a cup of chili nearby- pull out a soda - board has the menu- their hash is very, very good. I love their swiss mushroom burgers (to order) and fries. They -and you- add it up at the end, and agree on the total. Laid back, locals abound and oh yes-their fried clams are terrific. Polly roams from front to back greeting all and pitching in wherever needed. She's a winner!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pal533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Evalina's Stand also viewed

Woodstock, Mystic Country
Woodstock, Mystic Country
 
Woodstock, Mystic Country
Woodstock, Mystic Country
 
Pomfret, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 

Been to Sweet Evalina's Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing