We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food and atmosphere”
Review of John's Cafe

John's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual fine dining restaurant All pastas homemade Local ingredients Full Bar Patio dining Takeout and catering available Private dining room for parties and events
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

cozy interior can be a bit loud but great food and presentation- you wont be sorry - way better than the highly publicized restaurant across the street

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2002porsche911T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
146 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great find in Woodbury”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

While spending a long day post Christmas shopping in the Southbury area my wife suggested we try Johns Cafe for a late lunch. This was my first visit and my wife's second. May I say Johns did not dissapoint. My wife ordered the lunch special grilled salmon over a fine bed of salad, an excellent choice. I had the grilled chicken sandwich with New England clam chowed, both cooked to perfection. The soup hit the spot on a cold winterey day. The wait saff was great. Johns Cafe also has a fine wine list. Can't wait for our next visit which will be for dinner. Highly recommend. Pete & Toni K

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peacefullpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“another fine woodbury restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

For a little country town woodbury has two of the best restaurants. Johns is one of my favorites. Great wine list paired with the food, Seasonal selections. Prix fix available sunday through thursday but you can order from the regular menu. Often one of us will find something on the prix fix while the other goes to the menu.

Another great thing is sunday and monday there is no corkage fee so this makes enjoying fine dining a little more affordable and you can enjoy Johns more often. We usually bring a white and red and then staff opens whichever goes with our dinner.

Staff is professional.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A serendiptitous find--worth a visit”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had traveled from my home in Woodstock, Vermont to Providence, RI and then had to run to Woodbury, CT for business. My wife suggested I take a break and have lunch before heading back to pick her up in Providence. The first place I saw was John's Cafe just a few steps from where I had done business. Anyone who travels alot really appreciates stumbling to into a fine establishment entirely by chance. This is one of those times.
Nice ambiance, great service and a menu that made one really ponder all the possibilities. I ended up ordering the Prix Fixe lunch special--New England clam chowder and the grilled salmon over mesclun greens. Wow! Plenty of places serve that but few do it so well. Salmon cooked to perfection (2 large pieces!) and wonderful salad and dressing. Great soup too. $13.00. Sure the linen tablecloths might put off some for lunch, but go here. It's is well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vermont1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Good Food and Service; a Little Pricey”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I went here to celebrate our birthdays on 2/6 (hers is 2/7, mine 2/14), which was actually our 2nd time here. We were promptly seated at our previously requested reservation time (7:30). The wait staff is very charming, as is the decor of the place. The food was very good, and the beer selection is very good as well. They don't have a huge selection of beers, but they do have several beers that you can't get in other restaurants in CT. It CAN get a little pricey, and is very tiny (the only reasons this isn't a 5) - but all in all, I would definitely recommend John's.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to John's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing