We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Nearby Hotels
D'Coconut Resort(Pulau Besar)
$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$36
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
$18
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
$16
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
$33
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TAd Marine Resort(Pulau Tinggi)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rimba Resort(Pulau Sibu)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
76
76
22
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
76
22
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaseania resortwhite sandrestaurant areaswimming poolseaview chaletfishbbq dinnerwater heatermersing jettyboat ridecrystal clear waterbeautiful islandrelaxing stayper daywelcome drinkclean beachisland holiday
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 184 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hotel Aseania at Pulau Besar offers peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Pulau Besar, being one of the smaller islands off the more well known Tioman Island is easily reached within 45 mins from Mersing. being relatively unknown it is less visited by tourists hence, the stay at the hotel and the island becomes very much more of a private area for visitors.
A;though the amenities at the hotel are very basic with no frills, it is very suitable for those who want the peace and tranquility. The hotel rate is reasonable ,the staff very friendly, and the food offered is reasonably priced. However do not expect any room service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermum1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

the white sands and clear waters that greeted us upon our arrival on the island amazed us. resort staff helped with our bags and also presented us with a welcome drink.

out of the 3 resorts on the island, aseania is strategically located nearest to the pier, and it is also looks the most well kept and maintained. the beach is clean as the resort makes the effort to clear the beach in the mornings so the guests can enjoy the sun, sand and sea.

service staff at aseania are very attentive and always have smiles on their faces. the waiters and housekeeping staff may not speak very good english, but the counter staff do and they are very helpful as well.

rooms are not fancy, simple, adequate, clean and rather spacious. there is aircon in the room, no tv though. the staff are ready to help you should you run into any problems.

i must say that we were very happy with the food spread. we had no complaints about the food at all. it was a buffet line for the 3 meals, but there was more than enough for all the guests.

activities wise, there aren't too many activities but just be there for rest and relax!

one important point to note: be very prepared with mosquito and sandfly repellents.

i'm definitely considering another visit with family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvn_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Spacious seaview room, services are good, book all-inclusive package as no other place to eat. I am very happy to find this island is relatively unpolluted with minimal rubbish such as polystyrene and bottles. Perfect getaway for a relaxing holiday. Would be nice if shampoo provided.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank siangl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

200 dollars a night? The owners are on another planet if they think this place is anywhere close to being worth that. We left after 2 nights and managed (after a few phone calls to KL) to be refunded for the third that we'd already paid for.

The breakfast/lunch/dinner was a joke. Even my 100lb wife was hungry the whole time, so I was starving! The quality of what we did get to eat was awful as well. The tipping point was when we got 2 slices of toast and 2 pancakes for breakfast. When I asked for an egg I was told it would be an additional charge. Laughable service for $200 a night.

Unfortunately, I can't make recommendations for alternative accommodation on here, but I can sure recommend where not to stay...HERE! (unless you like terrible-value-for-money holidays)

This review might sound slightly annoyed. In fairness I'm annoyed at myself as well that I even stayed a second night. Don't waste your money like I did. Stay somewhere nicer for cheaper (pretty much anywhere else). I'd sooner burn $200 than stay here again.

Side note:
- Had to switch rooms because air con broken in first one. Second room the bathroom ceiling was leaking whenever it rained so you got a shower even if you didn't want one!
- Beach is not raked in the morning so is dirty from all the stuff that blows off the trees. Could look nice if they took the time to give it a once-over every day.
- Can't see the bottom of the pool; it is that murky.

Happy holidays indeed ;)

Stayed: March 2014
7  Thank Chalkywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights and must say it was great.
The price level was very cheap so don't expect fancy hotel rooms. The rooms were basic but big. Nice big bed, spacious bathroom, lots of room to put your luggage. Aircon was working perfectly - only negative point is that the huts are not really 'sealed'. There are lots of little cracks/gaps in the doors/window as it is usual for wooden huts. So if you are scared of little insects crawling in best is to close the bottom of the doors off with a towel or so (that is what we have done :) ). After that it was perfectly fine!

The staff of the resort is GREAT!! They are so friendly and welcoming. Everybody was smiling and helping us if we had questions or needed anything. Top Service! Even the manager came around at night during dinner checking if everything is OK and offering us a free drink as they had some problems with the power earlier that day (which we didnt even notice).

Food was also good. We had booked a package so breakfast/lunch/dinner was included - on the second night there was a BBQ which was amazing.
Drinks were prized quite cheap/reasonable.

Beach itself is great, white sand, crystal clear water. Amazing. Just be aware of the Sandflies!! We got heavily bitten while laying on the beach, so better use the provided deck (now i know why they have such a deck :))
they also have a pool which is nice. There are sufficient chairs around to find a nice place to lay down.

Activities on the island are limited as its very small - snorkeling, diving, trakking. But if you come to such a place you only want to relax anyhow and not undergo numerous adventures.

So all in all this place is great for the price offered (we spend like EUR 200 each for 3 days/2 nights incl boat ride, 3 meals per day and drinks at night, so not bad!).
I would definitely recommend this Island and especially this resort on the island (which looks like the biggest/nicest one of all three on this Island). The prices are much cheaper (than for example compared to Pulau Rawa) and i assume you get the same nice beaches/oceans/service.

Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews