We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to watch a movie and eat/drink”

Gilson Cinema & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Winsted
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice way to watch a movie and eat/drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Come watch a movie in the old mill town of Winsted, CT -- convenient stop in between Hartford and Tanglewood -- and enjoy a drink and decent pub food, all at good prices. Two current feature movies, both in old-style movie theater spaces where they have pulled out about 80% of the seats, reconfigured the remaining movie seats into clusters of 2 or 3 or 4, given you tons of leg room, provided friendly service -- all in a relaxing, upbeat setting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great movie watching experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We love going to the Gilson, usually on Friday nights. The food is decent, you can order a glass of wine or beer and enjoy a meal and a movie without a kid sitting behind you kicking your seat. Plan to arrive at least 30 minutes before the movie to get your seat, order something to drink and your dinner and absorb the atmosphere. The seats are very comfortable. I tell everyone I know about this unique experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RiverGirl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Best way to see a movie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

A great set up , to sit in a comfortable chair and have a table in front of you . Order lite dinner fare and a drink and sit back and enjoy the movie.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tmarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gilson is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband and I LOVE going to the Gilson theater. It is an adult audience and very relaxing! Nice sandwiches and small dinenrs are served with wine or??? The servers are sweet and the experience is wonderful. We try to go here at least once a month!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Date night...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Love to be able to have a great time with dinner (that I didn't cook) and a movie.

Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilson Cinema & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gilson Cinema & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing