We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased with my stay!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As a recent guest I was very pleased with my stay. Check in was quick and efficient. The woman behind the desk professional and courtious. Even accommodated my request for extra cookies! The room was clean. Had dinner and drinks in Shade Bar & Grill, staff was nice food was good. I stayed for 2 nights and will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G00d4YOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting our hotel and for your nice review. You can always count on us for great cookies! Hope to see you again soon.

-Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    152
    155
    57
    41
See reviews for
103
97
38
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Vomit-inducing hotel - the worst I have ever seen, and I travel domestically and internationally year-round. Cannot believe this is a Doubletree! A breakdown of the terror you will experience at this hotel:

1) Impersonal staff who do not seem to care about your concerns
2) Dirt, dust, grime and stains everywhere, in hallways, rooms and public areas
3) Utterly terrifying, disgusting rooms with terrible AC systems and closet-sized bathrooms

CHECK IN + ARRIVAL

I checked in several hours after check-in time and was greeted by a rather indifferent-looking staff member who didn't even look me in the eye. Looked like she had enough of her job -- all of the staff look like this, by the way. (One staff member who I later complained to about my room told me that she was sick of the "crap" she had to deal with at this hotel.)

I took the extremely-slow 1970's-style (wood railing and all) elevator up to the 4th floor. The halls are REALLY dark and what I can only describe as a musty, stale smell lingers and permeates throughout the entire hotel. There were stains all over the floors (see picture), and the carpets were disgusting.

When entering the room, I tried to use the key cards, and not a single one of the 4 I was given was working. The housekeeper in the hallway told me the doors are "really old" and that I should just keep trying until something budged. She was right -- the doors are REALLY OLD (see pictures). I also noticed a wine glass outside of my door and told the housekeeper. that she should maybe pick it up. It was still there when I checked out the next day (see picture).

ROOM

At that moment, another housekeeper walked by my party of 4 and LITERALLY said "Oh my god" and gasped -- she said she had cleaned our room earlier in the day and had left TWO towels for us. She said that they usually only leave TWO towels for rooms with two doubles. She got us some more from her cart. I wondered why there would only be two towels put into the bathroom -- until I went to the bathroom and noticed it is hobbit-sized and you can't fit several towels in there without it looking like a laundry closet. As other reviewers have mentioned, the toilet almost touches the tub!

The bathroom floor as covered with stains (see picture). I checked the shower and saw that the showerhead was practically falling off (see picture). I do not understand how maintenance could have missed that. I took a shower later and the showerhead worked, but the tub WOULD NOT DRAIN. Absolutely disgusting.

After unpacking my things into the dresser, which had a huge tear in it (see picture), I started to have a sneezing fit. I checked the AC vent and it was COVERED with dust (see picture). Below it, the AC panel was practically ripped out of the wall (see picture). Again, how could housekeeping miss that? I went over to the phone to call maintenance and saw that the phone was COVERED with dust, too (see picture). I did not even want to touch the phone.

After all of these mishaps, I decided I should double-check the linens. Of course there were blood-like stains on the duvet -- I almost puked! I just threw the duvet in the closet. I popped the AC panel back into the wall and went to the hallway to ask the housekeeper (the one who said the doors were old, not the one who left only two towels) if she could get me new linens. She said she was in the middle of cleaning a room and would bring them to me later. I never got any new linens.

POOL

Later on, I went down to use the pool and had another sneezing fit on the stairs -- then I noticed that there was, not surprisingly, dust EVERYWHERE (see picture). I guess they never clean the stairwells? The pool was filthy, too, and there were dirty towels spread all across the area. Again, I guess they do not clean the public areas (stairwells, pool) that often.

FITNESS CENTER

I went to the fitness center THREE times over my stay, and there were NEVER any towels there. After each time, I told the desk staff, and they said "sorry" with cold, blank, expressionless faces.

OVERALL

Would never stay here ever again, and you shouldn't, either. There are a ton of hotels in the area, and I am sure they are all better than this "Doubletree."

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thirdculturewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we will be utilizing your feedback as part of our ongoing efforts to improve our guests' satisfaction. I apologize for service problems during your stay, and for the frustration you faced with our amenities and accommodations. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a large business group staying at the hotel for a meeting in Windsor, CT, approx. 35 attendees. This was the second time I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel within the last 7 years with a large group and it continues to be just "average". I travel to the Hartford/Windsor CT area at least every other month and often once a month and when I plan my own trips, I purposely steer away from this hotel given my prior experience. Issues with air conditioning, cleaniness, room set up, kitchen food prep in response to a large group were all average or even below. Not sure why our company continues to keep this hotel on the list. There are much better options within this price range

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and ensure that the air conditioning works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Fawn,

Thanks for your review. I will share your comments with our team. We are spending a lot of time and money this year on hotel improvements, and hopefully we will be able to one day earn your business as regular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to attend a good friends wedding. Check in took a while. Being near an airport, a couple pilots came to the desk and so my service was put in hold. The rooms were supposed to be booked as ablock on one floor, but all the guests were scattered. Our room was ok, but the shower was so gross I wore flip flops in it. There was soap scum and mildew on the tiles. A friends room had to be relocated because his shower did not work at all. The morning after we went to the breakfast buffet. Horrible coffee! The pot in the room brewed a better cup. The french toast was hard like it was made with stale bread. Eggs were runny. Toaster took forever and a day and burned my toast. Paid, and left hungry. Waited for bar to open to get a Bloody Mary. Opened 20 min late and drink wasn't worth the wait. Best part of the stay was the delicious cookie I got after check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Thanks for submitting a review of your stay. I apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. I have discussed the quality issues you raised with our management team so we can all work to make sure these issues do not come up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bathroom in room 450 is horrible, door is so close to the toilet and when you sit on the toilet the door is up against your leg, décor is dated and the rooms smells, my husband and I were shocked at the "old" décor, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ended up staying here when the hotel I had originally booked could not accommodate me (another story!). I did not know what the rate was and wouldn't have stayed there if I'd known. The staff was very nice and helpful but the room wasn't so great - smelled stale, sink drain didn't work, spider in tub. Pretty dreary. Would've been fine at $90 per night,...not $180.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thanks for completing a review of our hotel. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and that you found the staff to be helpful. I am dissappointed and sorry that you were not happy with the room and the rate. We are doing some room improvements this year and I hope we'll be able to exceed your expectations if you give us another chance in the future.

Thanks,

-Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Soon as we arrived, we noticed that the sheets on the beds were not changed on the sofabed. When we asked for the linens to be changed, housekeeping used the same linens and just made the bed! The front desk didn't seem too friendly and housekeeping woke us up by screaming "housekeeping" and knocking really loudly at 9:00 am, just to slip the bill under the door! I have stayed at MANY hotels before and usually the bill is just left on the table, or slipped under the door without having us disturbed in our sleep! I would definitely recommend staying at any other hotel or even a motel due to the cleanliness of the hotel room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Uzma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Seguin, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Uzma,

Thank you for your candid feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate our service and training programs. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

-Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor Locks
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Windsor Locks - Bradley International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport
Address: 16 Ella Grasso Tpke, Windsor Locks, CT 06096-1015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree Hotel Bradley International Airport is situated in the North Central region of Connecticut, approximately a mile from Bradley International Airport. Local attractions include the Big E, Hartford Civic Center, Mark Twain House, New England Air Museum, Six Flags New England, and the Springfield Civic Center. Hotel amenities include multilingual staff, laundry/valet service, baggage storage, gift shop, luggage hold, safe deposit box, room service, business center, fax/photocopy service, fitness room, and pool. Onsite dining is available at our hotel near Bradley Airport at the Shade Grill, while drinks can be had at the Shade Bar. Guest rooms feature irons, ironing boards, coffeemakers, hairdryers, cable TVs, in-room movies, web mail, Nintendo video games, dual-line telephones, voicemail, and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bradley International Airport
Doubletree Windsor Locks
Windsor Locks Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing