We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, except for the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, except for the pool”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights during the Big Power Outage.

This hotel has a lovely lobby. The rooms are clean and frankly like the rooms you'd find in a Hampton Inn or similar chain, except the bathroom was extremely small -- so that when you opened the bathroom door it barely cleared the toilet.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, with very good service.

But what is the deal with the pool? It had weird foamy things floating on the top and a dirty bottom. There were no towels in the pool area for two days in a row, even though we asked twice at the front desk. And you don't want to waste a room towel at the pool -- seeing as we got only two bath towels from housekeeping even though we had 2 adults and 2 kids. Back to the pool...there was a used coffee cup in the table for three days. Seriously, no one is cleaning the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTfamily2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    147
    151
    55
    40
See reviews for
100
90
36
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Owing to flight delays we arrived in the wee hours of the morning and stayed at the first decent hotel we passed upon leaving the airport (LaQuinta). After a whirlwind day, we were too tired to drive to our preferred destination and again found ourselves looking for options on Elle Grasso Blvd. The Doubletree is next door to the LaQuinta and since it was a "Good Buy" (although still $20 more than La Quinta), we opted for a stay. Upon arrival, we were greeted by, quite literally, a group of 4 kids who tore past us so fast they seemed a blur or energy. Youth soccer association in the house... There was also a party in full swing, booming bass and guests spilling into the hall and lobby. No worries, we were told that our room would be on a quiet floor away. Check-in was efficient. We were offered a brown bag with one warm cookie. Nice though TWO cookies would've been nice, if they could spare it.) The soccer kids had no trouble begging extras, so perhaps good home training was disadvantageous in this situation. On our floor, the first thing I noticed was the dirty carpet. Not only stained but ridiculously in need of a vacuum. Here's the truth about our room -- the room is well-appointed with a nice bathroom counter, marble and tile, a flat screen and pretty furniture. However, the devil is in the detail because the room was not clean. The blankets had stained, bathroom corners had gunk, mirror had splash marks, table lamp had a heavy film of dust. The bedside cable guide boasted chanels through the 70's, but our tv only picked up 2-13. Of the two phones, only one had a dial tone and worked. Even with no kids on our floor, hallway traffic and noise didn't die down until well after midnight. With a restaurant onsite, there's no complimentary breakfast (like there is at LaQuinta). Overall, this hotel was not the "Good Buy" we anticipated. In fairness, on a less busy stay, you may find cleaner floors and rooms, working amenities, less noise and, possibly even an extra cookie. Good luck with that.

Room Tip: Select a room away from large groups and ideally away from elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Where to begin. We booked this hotel as a stay and fly package. We come from NH and were flying to Orlando from Bradley International airport. We have a 14 month old and instead of getting up at 4am we decided it would be nice to drive down the night before park our vehicle for the week. The rates were reasonable. Upon checking in the lobby looked nice and the man at the desk was very kind. The cookies were a nice touch. The hallways on our way to our room were gross and needed to be vacuumed. Our room smelled of stale cigarette smoke and I am very allergic to it plus we had our 14 month son. The rug in our room had huge stains. The maid apparently didn't care about her job enough to clean the room properly. The mirror in the bathroom had toothpaste splatter, there was someone else s floss in the wastebasket, the bathroom floor had hair on it and the shower curtain had what appeared to be blood stains on it. Then we finally got our son to sleep and there were loud kids partying in the hallway until 1am. It was a nightmare and would never stay there again. Thank goodness it was only one night! Next time we will stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Upon arrival the desk clerks couldn't even get us a key for about 15 min. Finally went to our room and the hallway was littered with empty beer cans, trash, empty glasses, roll away beds, and broken appliances. It looked more like a flop house hotel than a Doubel Tree. Our room was not much better, no clean towels, stains on the carpet and furniture, lamps and elec sockets not working etc. We complained to the desk person and was told it would be cleanded up immediately. 6 hours later no change. I will never stay in this dump again and recommend staying at a hotel 6 over this dump.

Room Tip: Stay at ANY OTHER hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank av8or2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Desk staff was very friendly and check-in was quick. Chocolate Chip Cookies are amazing!.The restaurant of the hotel was very nice, great atmosphere. However, the room left alot to be desired, smelled of smoke and a little old. To be fair, there were signs letting you iknow the hotel was under renovations, so hopefully, whoever goes in the future, will have a great experience. This turned me off from visiting this location ever again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you are HHONORS. I did, but unfortunately did not get the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITRAVEL1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york,ny
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

hotel undergoing renovation, nice new spports bar. rooms ok . staff freindly, breakfast could use an upgrade. better than most in the area

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Non-smoking hotel but bathroom smelled of smoke. Linens were not changed and dirty.
Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor Locks
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport
Address: 16 Ella Grasso Tpke, Windsor Locks, CT 06096-1015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree Hotel Bradley International Airport is situated in the North Central region of Connecticut, approximately a mile from Bradley International Airport. Local attractions include the Big E, Hartford Civic Center, Mark Twain House, New England Air Museum, Six Flags New England, and the Springfield Civic Center. Hotel amenities include multilingual staff, laundry/valet service, baggage storage, gift shop, luggage hold, safe deposit box, room service, business center, fax/photocopy service, fitness room, and pool. Onsite dining is available at our hotel near Bradley Airport at the Shade Grill, while drinks can be had at the Shade Bar. Guest rooms feature irons, ironing boards, coffeemakers, hairdryers, cable TVs, in-room movies, web mail, Nintendo video games, dual-line telephones, voicemail, and high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Hartford - Bradley Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bradley International Airport
Doubletree Windsor Locks
Windsor Locks Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing