We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Air Museum...Windsor Locks, Ct”

New England Air Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New England Air Museum houses over 80 aircraft in three large hangars and outdoor display area, as well as an extensive collection of engines, instruments, aircraft parts, uniforms and personal memorabilia. Plan a visit today to check out exciting aircraft, displays, exhibits and programs that are perfect for all ages!
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New England Air Museum...Windsor Locks, Ct”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very interesting and educational...a lot of history! My children enjoyed the attractions and were able to sit in a cockpit of an old airplane. The day that we went, we were able to build an airplane and launch it, and we were also able to do airplane related crafts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at New England Air Museum, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit!! Visit again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    60
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best aviation musem in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum has an amazing collection of airplanes and is constantly restoring some that will be added to its collection. Visitors can also enjoy a "flying" experience by testing their pilot skills at the Total Flight Simulator. I attended some of the special events of the museum. They were extremely interesting and well organized. The main problem with the museum is its location on a small road bordering the runway of Bradley International airport. Go to see that place even if you are not an airplane fanatic. You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank etiennedotreppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at New England Air Museum, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are glad you visited!! Thanks for the Great Review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
247 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yay lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We finally god here after years of saying we were going to. They have a ton of planes and the exhibits are really wonderful. We loved seeing all of the history. There really is a lot of stuff here and a lot of great programs as well. We will probably be returning for another visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at New England Air Museum, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Glad you had a wonderful visit, thanks for the great feedback!! Visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited recently with my two boys. The museum is a lot of fun and the aircraft are in great condition. You can see exhibits you will not see anywhere else. Well worth the visit.

Aircraft on Display Include:

B-29 Superfortress, A-26 Invader, P-47 Thunderbolt, F-14 Tomcat, F-104 Starfighter, F-4 Wildcat, F4U Corsair, F-86 Sabre, Gee Bee Racer and many others. Numerous Sikorsky helicopters.

My favorites is the Sikorsky VS-44A Excambian Flying Boat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at New England Air Museum, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes the VS-44 is an amazing aircraft!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't say enough about the great value this place offers. Loads of military, civilian and specialty aircraft. We went on an open cockpit day and got to sit in about a dozen cockpits. The volunteers really know their stuff and look to engage anyone interested in conversation. Really had a great time with my 12 yr old son.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chadbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at New England Air Museum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so glad you had a great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New England Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing