We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd give it a 2.5 rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Bradley Airport
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night because of it's proximity to E. Hartford for a college football game we were attending. It is located "right" off I-91 but is not visible from the highway nor are there any signs directing you to it's location. Confusing. What a strange place this is. Outside the place looks kind of derelict - it looks and feels like it's a small industrial park that decided to try it's hand at being a motel/meeting center. Check in went fine however we had to go back to the desk b/c our keys didn't work. Big room, creaky King bed, basic cable, relatively clean, nothing really out of the ordinary per the room with the exception that there were really only two lamps and it was really dark. My parents had also booked down the hall. They had a flat-screen TV and room-sized fridge. We didn't. We would have liked to have the convenience of a fridge. The bathroom was clean with the barest minimum of amenities which was fine b/c we were only staying the night. The odd thing was that the toilet paper was affixed to the front of the sink letting the TP get splattered with sink water. No fan in the bathroom either. All of the first-floor rooms have sliding doors that should open towards the parking lots. Ours didn't open at all and my parent's had a wooden stake keeping it from being ripped out of the lock and track. Coming back from our event around 12:30 am we found that our keys didn't work again. We walked back to the front desk and there was no one there and no sign as to how we could contact someone. We waited/searched for several minutes with another guest who was waiting to pay for some mid-night snacks until the night clerk appeared a few minutes later. It wasn't obvious that anyone was on duty. A simple "Back in 5 minutes" sign would have been great. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice for an indoor pool. They provide you with a Continental breakfast, also strange; a tub of hard-boiled eggs in the fridge that you, and your fellow guest's children, can help yourselves to. The do-it-yourself waffle machine was decent but if I were hygienically-sensitive I'd pass. Another thing that made this place a bit odd and creepy was that there seemed to be transient-looking people who lived here. Just a strange vibe all around. Check it out!

Room Tip: Seems like a crap shoot, my folks had a non-smoking room that reeked of smoke.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

LondonBunnies - Thank you for your very thorough review. We hope you stay with us the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Bradley Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bid for a room on Priceline at the 3 star level in the Bradley Airport area and got this.... They have since (within the week!) downgraded it to a 2.5, and in fact, I'm set to receive a refund because of PL's bait and switch tactics.

The place is cavernous, dark, with an abandoned feeling, hallways smell like a hospital. Room had cheap furnishings (pillows, sheets), that kind of cheapo toilet seat with the gap in the front for that institutional feel, stains on the ceiling, old looking carpet (one you wouldn't want direct contact with).

WARNING TO HOTWIRE/PRICELINE RISK-TAKERS!! You might end up at this dump if you bid at the 2.5 star level in the BDL airport area!!! Or if they revert to their old star rating, you could even get it if you bid at the 3 star level!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAHenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Laura H - Thank you for your feedback, it has been super helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Old hotel. No elevator, outdated plumbing. We reported severely stopped up bath tub drain 60 minutes after check-in. Very friendly front-desk staff assured us he was writing up a work order and it would be fixed the next day. Never fixed - spent two days taking showers in up to 6 inches of standing water. Only two sets of towels in room with two double beds (expected four sets).
Breakfast OK for this type of hotel - not outstanding, but adequate. Could use more electric plugs near worktable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

thank you for your review. I apologize about the clogged tub, but appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

2 STARS is generous for this place.

Pros: got it for $50 a night, lobby was shiny and spectacular. Plenty of parking.

Cons: Under maintained parking lot with a run down entrance to a "conference center". There is a garden growing tomatoes and other vegetables in front of the hotel. There is a "business room" with no tables. Took more than 15 mins to check in. Front desk doesn't seem to like her job. Everything is at least 20 mins away. Even the airport. (Unless you're driving at 2am)

Pool is small but warm. About 20ft. Fitness center is more or less 4 under maintained machines. WIFI is at the speed of dial up. Trust me, you're better off using your phone. NO ELEVATOR. Breakfast is no more than juice/coffee/bagels.

There are church offices here? Hallway is not uniform. Parts of the property with advance up and down connectors which don't look nice. They smell like my grandmothers room.

Beds are not comfy at all. The air conditioner has 3 settings: high, low, and auto. It will always default to auto no matter what. Each room has a 1 foot length "balcony" with no screen door. No water pressure. Not hot at all.

website doesn't work btw if you didn't already know.

I guess I should've expected these things at $50 a night, but this is NOT A 3 STAR.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguinator13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose this hotel for its reasonable rate and shuttle service to the airport. We were treated so well and enjoyed our experience so much that we will always be planning our future air travel in conjunction with a stay at this hotel. We were dropped off at the airport exactly when we wanted and picked up within minutes of our plane landing. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice touch and helped set us up for a long day of travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

pwharf- Thank you for your 5 Star Review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband travels weekly and stays in many hotels. With that said he even agreed that this place was one of the worst. And he has stayed in some pretty bad places.We had gotten there late at night on sept 13 . We were only staying one night. We were happy they accepted our dog too,for a fee of course. But thats okay. He went to check in and he said the girl jen I think was nice that waited on him,but there was a nasty lady with poor customer service that interrupted their conversation, because they didnt have the room he booked on priceline.she more less said to bad take it or leave it. So we went to our room in the back. First off the lighting in the parking lot was very poor,and my husband has a work van with thousands of dollars of tools in it. We proceed to the room, he goes out and gets the rest of our bags. And me well, I was appalled by the looks of this room..Lighting in there was poor at best.For good reason they didnt want you to see the filth! I pulled back their nasty looking comforter,and there was a dead fly/bug of some sort on it.The carpet was so dirty and frayed. Cob webs were like i was in a haunted house....ceiling soiled and paint from it was all over floor and dressers. I wouldnt even feel comfortable with socks on walking on those floors.the bathroom was very nice,to bad we don't sleep in there....my husband came back I said I am not staying here..He went to front desk and jen walked him around to find a suitable room.he said the second room was worse. wasn't even cleaned from last person.So they tried a third room, to separate beds but it was late. And by then I honestly could not stay there. The women also told him this was under new management. And that it used to be a pay by the hour hotel! After hearing that and seeing what i saw there was no freaking way i was staying there.Good luck to the new management. This is no way a three star by any stretch of the imagination...

Room Tip: Avoid it...we were in three room's.they were all unsuitable
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Barbara J - Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

the room was clean and freshly painted. the new flat screen and air conditioning was a bonus. the pool is beautiful and great for kids! The breakfast was small, but enough to fill you up and be on your way....

Room Tip: ask for a wing room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty C, Manager at Travelodge Bradley Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Amy V - Thank you for your 4 Star review, we truly appreciate your feedback. Keep us in mind the next time you travel through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor Locks
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Windsor Locks - Bradley International Airport
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Airport
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Airport
#11 of 14 in Windsor Locks
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 5 in Enfield
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites East Windsor Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bradley Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bradley Airport

Address: 383 S Center St, Windsor Locks, CT 06096-2828 (Formerly HillsPoint Hotel Bradley International Airport Hartford North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Price Range: $53 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Bradley Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 10 minutes from Bradley International Airport in Windsor Locks, CT, Travelodge Inn & Suites BDL Hartford North is your ideal location when visiting the Hartford / Springfield area. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the airport, and a complimentary hot breakfast. Local attractions include the Connecticut Air Museum, Six Flags New England, The Basketball Hall of Fame, The Mark Twain House, XL Center in Hartford and the Springfield Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Bradley Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing