We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March, 2013 to visit relatives. We were in room 105 (first floor). We arrived early and decided to check and see if the room was ready and it was. The room was pretty large. It had a living area with a flat sofa that could be turned into a bed, a desk area and a fridge and microwave. The microwave contained plates and plastic ware, which was a first. I always hate trying to heat things up in a hotel room microwave cause I have nothing to put it on, so this was helpful. There was a desk area with a lamp that was large for a hotel desk. There was a bathroom with a toilet and a small sink and another room that had a large, walk in shower and a vanity with a lighted magnifying mirror. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet except for of course the airplanes (it's right next to the airport). Breakfast was also nice - sausage patties, eggs, waffles in addition to oatmeal, cereals, bagals, muffins, etc. Free wifi is also available. There is an indoor pool and fitness center that we did not use, as well as a guest laundry at the end of the first floor hallway. We also noticed there was a shuttle to the airport. The staff was very nice. There is a Dunkin Donuts next door and a Friendlys Restaurant and a Ruby Tuesday's about a mile or so down the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor but the rooms are far enough away from the lobby area that we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinchuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hartford Airport SpringHill Suites.

Thanks again for letting us know that we did a good job for you and we will look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Windsor Locks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    100
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
92
40
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
469 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've enjoyed staying at Springhill's around the country. I find their decor refreshing, unique and functional. IKEA modern furnishings, suitable for the casual or business traveler. This property had a few glaring issues. I really liked the layout of the room. Main room has a nice seating area and separate work station. Free internet was provided and worked fine. Plenty of light and outlets for the business traveler. Two computers in the lobby for boarding passes and such. Each room had a fridge and microwave. TV is located between the sitting area and the bedroom. My room had a separate commode and shower room. The former equipped with a hand sink and sliding door. The shower room had a full vanity and walk-in glass shower. The shower door would not close properly causing water to leak all over the bathroom floor. You would imagine after the housekeepers picked up soaked towels everytime they cleaned the room they would make a repair to the door. Overall the room was clean but several obvious stains in the carpet could lead to thinking otherwise. The HVAC unit was located in the wall, and provided adequate heat without disturbing sleep. The floor near the unit was cold and very drafty when off. Bed was comfortable and linens were fresh and clean. Overall a good stay. The real disappointment came with the complimentary breakfast. The selection was horrible. A few cereals, not much of a selection. Still frozen muffins, bread and bagels. The barest of bare for selection and I travel over 100 nights a year. There was empty coffee the two times I tried to get some in the morning. Luckily, there is a pay breakfast option across the parking lot at the Dunkin Donuts. Plenty of hot coffee and selection, just not free. In closing, I would give the property another try but you might want to check your options as it didn't seem to meet the expectations of other's ratings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We listen to feedback to ensure that we contine to strive to make all of our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you have a flight at BDL, stay at this Springhill Suites the night before. It's minutes from the terminal. All Springhill Suites have a unique lobby that is very modern and this is a fairly new hotel. The staff was professional, the market was well stocked and the room very clean. The bed was terrific. The only design feature that drives me crazy is the small flat screen that is shared between the living room and bedroom. That said, I enjoy the room design and the barn doors on the bathroom. Very cool. I will stay here again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClass2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing the positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hartford Airport SpringHill Suites. We strive to provide personal service to every guest and I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire team.

Thanks again for letting us know that we did a good job for you and we will look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Windsor Locks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've stayed at the Springhill Suites previously but the property seems to be going downhill. It was not as clean as previous visits (what is that on the headboard?). The room is modern looking with a small fridge and microwave (They even have paper plates and plastic utensils). They gave us a room on the top floor on the end when we asked for a quiet room and all in all the staff although limited was nice. The room we stayed in needs an update and a good cleaning. Additionally, the shower leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. A nice enough place but time for a good cleaning and some basic maintenance. Pillows were horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LZ&TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I wanted to apologize for the issues you had with your room. I appreciate you bring these items to my attention. We aim to satisfy all of our guests and feedback such as yours will allow us the opportunity to make changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The other reviews are all accurate. The room did feel a bit as if it had been decorated by ikea. It all felt a bit odd, with so many separate areas, sliding doors, frosted glass and mirrors. The colors are so cool it seemed cold. It felt as if the designers had not actually stayed in what they had designed. It took us some time to get used to it all.

We missed breakfast, unfortunately, because of a very early flight. The shuttle was early, and efficient.

The room was fine, and certainly very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the room met your needs. We hope you will use us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We overnighted in this property to catch a 6:00 am flight at Bradley.
My wife wasn't expecting much but was very surprised (I've stayed in these before so I knew what to expect). The front desk was very helpful and efficient..
The rooms are very nice and quite modern -- the only comparison I can think of is that the rooms look like they were decorated by Ikea (which I don't think is a bad thing)...the shower and sink are in seperate spaces with sliding doors. There's a couch, a desk, a 46+inch flatscreen..all you'd need.
As far as conveniece to the airport, 3-5 minutes (literally). We left too early but these rooms come with breakfast and, even though we left before it was set up, there was hot coffee and juice in the lobby

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBAX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing yor positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide personal service to every guest and I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire team.

Thanks again for letting us know that we did a good job for you and we will look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Windsor Locks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a very nice property, plenty of parking, clean grounds, good upkeep and very personable employees. The room was clean and proper. We were very happy at this property The very minor item would the mirrors and stainless in the room, which were not properly spotless, likely a small oversight.

The problems with the property are likely part of design and franchise related, and not the fault of the property at all. The design is beautiful, but not designed with anything other than single travellers in mind. The frosted door on the bathroom is a great architectural feature and would work well for a room with a single person, but in a shared room, anyone visiting the bathroom at night brings a lot of light to the room. The alarm clock was so bright that we had to thank the Gideon's for their contribution in bringing us something to put in front, so we could sleep. There are two switches when you walk into the room, one for the lamp close to the door, the other appears to not function, but it does, it is the light for the desk (which has an on/off switch of it's own) as well as the electricity for the desk, so be careful or your laptop's battery will drain.

Yes, this is an airport hotel. Some airplanes fly very close. While the hotel for the most part muffled the noise, there was an early airplanes that could be heard. That's part of staying at an airport hotel and certainly not the hotel's fault at all, anyone staying at an airport property should be aware. Other than that one airplane, the property was quite quiet.

Room Tip: Be aware of the light switch that controls the electric plugs for the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours is very important so that we can ensure all of our customer are satisfied. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor Locks hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Airport
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Windsor Locks - Bradley International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks

Property: SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks
Address: 225 Ella Grasso Tpke, Windsor Locks, CT 06096-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks Hotel Windsor Locks
Springhill Suites Windsor Locks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing