We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and beach, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kradan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palian
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and beach, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

The beach is absolutely beautiful, with bungalows right on the beach. The room was basic, with a rustic outdoor shower. Bed was so hard, that we had back pains for the 4 days we stayed there.
Food in the restaurant was not more than ok, but the service was incredibly slow, unwilling and unpolite. This was especially the case with the two women serving in the restaurant.
So instead of eating in the resorts restaurant do try "Jims Place" located 5 minuttes in the center of the Island.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoVinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    26
    27
    25
See reviews for
23
57
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at koh kradan beach resort for 4 nights. We had previously stayed at koh ngai fantasy resort which was perhaps a mistake, as we had such a gorgeous room there, and were so dissapointed with our koh kradan room.. The walls of the room were all cracked, and smalls holes were stuffed with tissue paper, there was no wardrobe or dresser to put clothes, and the bed was very hard and lumpy. The guy on reception was not very helpful either, we had to wait over 2 hours for our room to be ready, and considering the price we paid for it,and having travelled all over thailand staying in far cheaper rooms we expected alot more. However the location and scenery was amazing, and the food up at wallys resort was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palian hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Kradan Beach resort is right next to the ferry drop off and pick up point so very good location, there are only about 5 other resorts on Kradan as it is so small.

As we were backpacking for 2 months we chose the cheapest bungalow at 900THB which still wasn't cheap compared to other places. We were taken behind all the other bungalows to a row of tin like huts that looked quite shabby and indeed they were! The floors were dirty and the beds uncomfortable, as for the bathroom it absolutely stank and we certainly didn't use the shower! No mosquito nets and holes in the windows and nets.

We've backpacked all over Asia staying in very cheap places so we aren't fussy people but this was by far the worst one yet! If staying here don't go for the budget option, the more expensive ones looked much nicer from the outside so were probably much cleaner!

Kradan isn't really for backpackers on a budget but good for a fews nights to explore if you don't mind paying a bit more.

Breakfast was included which was ok and kayaks could be hired for free, the BBQ in the evening was very tasty and good value! Lovely prawns and seafood! Excellent snorkelling is just round the corner from here but just make sure you go for the top end rooms!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
512 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

From the moment you arrive you feel the bliss of being in paradise. The beach and views are beautiful. Plenty of shade area under the trees bordering the water.The hotel is a basic hotel with bungalows lined up on the beach on 3 rows, some with a/c some without. Prices are generally 2,500 for a/c first row, 2,000 for a/c second row or fan first row. Can get all inclusive packages with a discount. Canoes are free for hotel guests and their day trips not too expensive. The food is not great and a little expensive, but that is what you get in most of these islands. The staff is very nice.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palian
5.2 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Kradan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1684.2 mi away
Coral Garden Resort
Coral Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Ko Kradan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalume Kradan Village
Kalume Kradan Village
#2 of 3 in Ko Kradan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.2 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kradan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kradan Beach Resort

Property: Kradan Beach Resort
Address: 28 - 30 Sathanee Road | Tabtiang, Palian 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Palian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kradan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kradan Beach Hotel Palian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing