We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience @ Flamingo Inn”
Review of Flamingos Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chuburna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingos Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chuburna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hubby and I left The Flamingo Inn a couple of days ago and we both loved it. We stayed at the "penthouse" which is a breath taking room with wonderful views and breeze, every detail has been taken care of by Norwegian owner Stig, who by the way ensures that your time there is the best, he helped us with information and also when our rental car broke down, thanks for everything, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, and for staying with us here at Flamingos Inn. You were missed when you left, thanks again for the nice dinner we had together in Chelem and for nice moments on the garden terrace.
Kind regards
Stig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Flamingos Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at Flamingos Inn again in January and once again, felt like I had been transported to heaven.

I had stayed in the "penthouse", Mar on my previous visit and loved the accommodations...stay in Arena this visit and was just as pleased.

The kitchen has everything you'd need and the large balcony was just perfect for morning coffee, relaxing and reading a book.

Don't let the seclusion of the Inn scare you off. If you want a bit of company, Stig, the owner and other guests are usually gathered around the terrace for great conversation. There are very good local restaurants and a store in Progreso that has everything you'll need...food, wine, and beer.

The Inn's proximity to Progreso (15 minutes) and Merida (30 minutes) make it a perfect location for relaxation coupled with nearby restaurants, cultural events and sightseeing.

I'm looking forward to returning again later this year! Thank you Stig, for another wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review, and even more for staying here again! Both my guests and I missed you when you left, you always make us feel comfortable with your smile and sense of humor. I hope to see you back soon!
Hugs
Stig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If I could give the Famingo Inn a 10 star I would. We stayed in the penthouse (the Mar). Absoulty breath taking. You can tell every detail has had special attention. We have been in the area 3 timesthis year and have stayed at many hotels. None even come close to this. Compared to US standards this place is very inexpensive. One of the best things about the Flamingo is the host. Stig makes the best breakfast we have ever eaten and it is included in the price. What more could you ask for in paridise?
Stig will do anything to make sure your stay is the best. We ask millions of questions and always was given an answer with a smile.

You can not do any better for a place to stay with beatiful surroundings and a fabulous host.

Stay here you will not regret it.

I have never written a review before. Although I have wanted to write some bad ones before.
Could not let this go by without giving the Flamingo Inn the praise it deserves.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front with a terrace.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Churburnna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks a lot, i really appreciated your stay here and you will always be very welcome back! You were great guests and I guess every inn keeper would just love to have you as their guests, but this time I was the lucky one :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After a 6 hour drive with a very unhappy baby and a toddler who kept asking "are we almost there yet?", we were definitely exhausted when we arrived at Flamingos Inn. From the moment we stepped on the property, the owner Stig made us feel welcome and the bright beautiful accommodations allowed us to relax in seconds. The Inn is very clean, extremely well kept and the decor is really quite stunning. Besides the pool for our son, we thought the best part was Stig's ability to be an amazing host - from our communication via email to reserve a room ... to the moment we said goodbye. He really went out of his way to make our family feel like TRUE guests!
We look forward to our next visit.

P.S. This is the very first time we have ever taken the time to write a review as we thought that the Flamingos Inn was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcrudolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks a lot - I feel very honored to get such a nice review from experienced travelers like you! You were great guests, and knowing that you will spend several months in the area from December, I look forward to meet you again, and you will always be very welcome over. Mi casa es su casa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned home for house hunting in Yucatan.

From the moment we checked into Flamingos Inn we cancelled our reservation in Merida for our last night before going home.

Stig, the owner, makes you feel like a an old friend returning home from the moment you arrive. He greeted us with a huge smile and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable.

The penthouse terrace has three seating options. Lounges for sunning, table and chairs for cocktails and a very nice alcove with couch and tables for a bit of shade...all with beautiful views of the Gulf.

Breakfast is delicious, healthy and filling and served on the main floor which has both views of the Gulf and gardens.

The pool is partially shaded with tall palms and great for a short swim or dip. The Gulf of Mexico is steps away and the beach is covered with great shells! The mornings are so calm in the Gulf that you can easily spend an hour floating and day dreaming.

Although Chuburna Puerto is a quiet fishing village with few dining options (I'm planning on opening a restaurant here next year) you can easily get to Progreso by collectivo (minivan) or taxi (about $15 USD). Progreso has great shopping, restaurants and a grocery store to pick up goodies for dinner. Don't forget to get a nice Cabernet Sauvignon or some beer to enjoy back at the Inn.

I've been traveling in Yucatan for over 25 years and this is now my new favorite! If you're looking for a wonderful place to unwind, this is it!

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautifully appointed with terraces. You can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks a lot for your nice review! It was a pleasure having you and Rachel here, and I hope to see you back very soon. Emilio keeps looking for a lot for you, he better find one very close to my place so that we will be neighbors!
Saludos
Stig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Great place to relax. Delicious breakfast by the Norwegian owner Stig. He is funny and helpful. He can arrange massage and boat trips.
Big, spacious, clean rooms with private bathrooms and separate balconies - and hammocks. We had the nicely decorated penthouse with a large terrace overlooking the Gulf. This place is great value. Both pool and beach. Free wifi. Nothing too much is going on around here so you should have a car to visit nearby places like Chelem, Progreso, Merida. No public buses but the owner will most likely arrange something if you need help to get from A to B. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank great_squasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingosinn, Owner at Flamingos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks a lot for your nice review! You are very welcome back, and then you will see quite a few changes as I have had made some really nice furniture and decorations for the penthouse - but you better come over and check it out yourself :-)
Saludos
Stig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuburna
9.3 mi away
Progreso Beach Hotel
Progreso Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Progreso
34 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
22.9 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
9.0 mi away
Playa Linda Hotel
Playa Linda Hotel
#3 of 14 in Progreso
111 reviews
9.4 mi away
Abrazarse Life Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Inn

Address: Calle 5 no. 508, Chuburna, Progreso 97320, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Progreso > Chuburna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chuburna
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingos Inn is a bed and breakfast located right on the beach in the charming fishing village of Chuburná, just half an hour outside Mérida, the capital of Yucatan. Mérida has international airport, for our visitors coming from Cancún, there are buses almost every hour. The buses are modern and comfortable, and the ride takes about four hours. Pick up service from Mérida can be arranged. Each room includes a private terrace with sea view, private bathroom, kitchenette, A/C, WI-FI and a luxury king-sized bed.Enjoy our nice pool, the beautiful beach, the silence and let us arrange for you tours to some of Yucatans amazing maya pyramids! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing