We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Vintage Radio and Communications Museum of Connecticut
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Connecticut's newest cultural attraction and learn how communications technology has changed our lives. It's fun, educational and entertaining! Tune radios over 80 years old... talk over candlestick telephones like your grandparents used... send a message in Morse Code... crank a phonograph and listen to 100-year-old records... see what television was like when the only color choices were black and white. Learn about the telegraph, telephone, mechanical sound recording, wireless telegraphy, radio and television, and the seeds of computers, satellite communications and the Internet.
CT
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I took my son for a scout trip. It was unexpectedly enjoyable. My son built an am radio. We also took a tour in which we heard old phonographs. We were taught how each different kind o player worked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, ct
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secret Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Always had an interest in radio, Dad was an early ham radio operator, so went to this museum expecting a static display of antique radios. They have that plus well planed and presented hands on displays covering every aspect of human communications including typewriter, telegraph, phonograph, movies, TV, telephone, ham radio (including a functional ham radio station), commercial broadcasting (including a working replica of a broadcast control room and sound effects studio) and working Tesla coil demonstrations for dramatic electrical displays. Their gift shop carries beautifully restored antique radios and telephones at very reasonable prices plus a variety of souvenir items. We planned to spend an hour and stayed three.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 99globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
305 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“If you're a tech fan, this is a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This museum tells the history of radio, TV, and other communications technology. It's full of wonderful old machines that people of all ages will be nostalgic about. You will see old grammophones, teletype machines, telegraphs, refrigerators with radios in them, radios with bars in them, telephone relays, early computers...you name it. There are displays that show what the earliest television images looked like and a chance to hear a crystal radio. It's not glossy or fancy, but it is a labor of love for the volunteers. It will really make you think about technology and its effect on our culture.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fascinating little museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We are a family of 5, with 3 kids ages 5-12. We stopped here on our way from Boston to Pennsylvania. We found the listing in the AAA Tourbook, as we were looking for something to stop an see for a about an hour. We ended up staying much longer.

They have much more inside than you would guess from the outside. It is well organized, and our tour guide (Ed Sax) was great. He encouraged the kids to try out the displays. He took time to answer the kids' questions, and adapted his presentation for what they already knew. (My husband and I are both engineers, we homeschool, have kids who are interested in technology, and also have a collection of antiquated computers in our garage!) We especially enjoyed the demonstrations of a Victrola, a Tesla coil, and some of the old phones.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank family1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wicked cool hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I decided to check out the museum and found it to be very interesting. Mr. Ed Sax was a great tour guide and gave us a lot of interesting information. From the outside of it you wouldn't think that it has that much to offer but once you are inside you can spend a good two hours or so just looking around and reading about the history of communications. Its a great place for people of all ages. There is So! Much to see at this historical museum. You can even try out some of the equipment like old radios, video cameras and so much more. Everyone was very helpful and shared their own experiences with the ever so fast growing world that we live in.

Helpful?
2 Thank jdecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Radio and Communications Museum of Connecticut also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Radio and Communications Museum of Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing