We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Windsor
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average Airport Hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I was arriving at the hotel around 2 AM. The hotel was very kind and the front desk man and security guard were very kind and helpful. I was a little disappointed when I got to my room. the room itself had the very comfortable marriott bed. However, the furniture just seemed old to me. There was a very old fashioned feel to the entire hotel. It was an ok stay but I can not review much since I was only there for a few hours for a short stay before my flight left.

I did enjoy the fountain in the lobby which was a nice touch. There is plenty of free parking there also. There is a hilton garden inn, a courtyard and a few other hotels in the same exact area as this hotel. I would look into those as well.

For a marriott hotel, I was not really impressed. For an airport hotel, it is excellent. The bethrooms did have a nice fuzzy rug on the floor which was a very comfortable touch when you jump out of the shower. The hotel also provided me with an extremely late checkout, with no charge.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMC_Rhyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    132
    51
    18
    19
See reviews for
82
46
33
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This is a pretty average Marriott Hotel. It's somewhat misleading because it's still a little bit of a drive away from the airport. I stayed here for about 6 months while on a project. The rooms are pretty standard and well maintained. The staff was somewhat friendly, but never really gave me that "willing to go the extra mile" feeling. One of my biggest issues is with the elevators, there are basically only 2 elevators and about 25% of the time, one elevator is out of service. Since a large portion of people are there on Business, this creates a big headache in the morning when the entire hotel is trying to get to their rental cars.

For the most part, I think people stay at this hotel because of it's location and convenience to where they were going, not really by choice. I would have to agree with that statement.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We've stayed at this hotel more than 5 times in the last two years at it is closest to my family in CT. The service and quality of the hotel has significantly declined as the room rates continue to increase. There are many other quality hotels in the immediate vicinity (across the street), we will be trying one of those next month.

The indoor pool was initially one of the best things about staying here in the winter, but it is open for limited hours and cleanliness of the pool is questionable.

Noise levels & Safety -- last 2 visits there were large groups of kids (10+) in their late teens hanging outside the side doors and in the parking lot smoking until all hours. A call to the front desk did nothing.

Cleanliness of the bathrooms and common areas has also declined. The stairways are dingy and reek of urine.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank PAGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

In all, we would recommend this hotel. This is a large, full service Marriott. We were pleased to see that at 62 we now qualify for the seniors discount which significantly reduced the cost of the room (we paid 98$ plus tax). They added a refrigerator, upon request, for no extra charge. The room was clean, the bed was good, the bathroom nice and the bath products very nice - especially the orange ginger body lotion. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The fitness room is quite large and nice - dfifferent types of cardio machines and free weights and you can go any time you wish 24h. There is a large lobby with a bit of a noisy water fountain gushing. My husband liked it - I could do with less sound. On the first night we arrived, it had been a terrible stormy day with treacherous road conditions, so we decided to eat in the hotel. Usually hotel restaurants are pricey and offer run-of-the-mill ho-hum food. Although the waitress was young and inexperienced, the food was surprisingly excellent. The never ending salad was chilled and fresh, including black olives etc and the salad bowls were well chilled. Nice details. The bread was wonderful. I had the shrimp cocktail which had truly jumbo shrimp and the filet mignon was high quality. The plating needs improvement however and the desserts did not measure up to the photos.
My only real reservation for this hotel is the business center. It is very small and was always busy - lots of people working with laptops as well and on speaker phones having meetings etc.
As for other places to eat in the area - everyone recommended Maine Fish Market - we thought it was awful. It had been described as a "nice restaurant." It was loud, no table cloths, mediocre food - reminded me of diner seafood. Closer to the hotel is Jim's Family Restaurant (Poquonock Avenue). Also no table cloths but much friendlier service and home-made quality Italian food. An authentic vegetable soup and good quality portions. Tasty, and reasonably priced - a family could order a pizza for good value. Further into the town - More than Ice-cream (I think that is the name- Broad Street I think) - good ice cream with an interesting owner/operator Gene. If you are not sure where to eat or what to see - he can set you straight. Apparently there is also an excellent Indian restaurant on that street - we just did not have the time for it.
We had a great time at the Mark Twain House, Harriet Beecher Stowe House, and the Airplane Museum. This is a nice area to stay with many things to do and see. (The Carousel Museum was a dissappointment by the way).

  • Liked — clean, large, full-service
  • Disliked — business center too small
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cohenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

All the trimmings are there but the devil is in the details, and there was one little problem after another, small but finally quite irritating. From a slight "attitude" at the front desk, to getting a wake-up call at five a.m. when in fact none had been ordered, to an overpirced room for underwhelming product; from overly friendly, almost sappy greetings from the entire staff in the morning, to the front desk not having quarters for the laundry machine, to the heating/cooling system in the room not having a continuous fan option and thereby not having the normal hotel room control options. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and the inside. The fountain in the lobby is lucious. There are often huge events in the big room off the lobby. The restaurant has a wonderful staff and great food. But there's an overall air in the hotel of unfounded pretentiousness. The many many small things just seemed to be off kilter. I'd prefer a good Courtyard Marriott to this behemoth.

  • Liked — the restaurant, The River Grille
  • Disliked — many of the lilttle things that make travel in this world bearable
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkTravelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for nine months while on business. Initially the service was outstanding, but in the last few months turnover seemed to play a significant role in reducing the service to average at best. The GM of this hotel appears to be very good, so I expect the service will improve again. The rooms seemed new and were above average for an airport Marriott, but noise has a way of finding its way into these rooms. This wasn't a major problem since this isn't a hotel frequented by guests who are excessively loud or stay up late, but it was still an occasional annoyance. There are a few rooms in particular in which noise from another room comes directly through a vent and it's almost as if you're standing in the same room, although only a few rooms have this problem. The executive lounge setup is far above average with plenty of comfortable couches and chairs and two TVs. The food, however, is below average, and the afternoon staff often doesn't refill appropriately. Turnover may be the problem here as the afternoon hotel lounge service was top-notch before the attendant quit a few months ago. The morning attendant is as good as they get and belongs in a five-star hotel. Another notable downside is the location, as the hotel doesn't have many options for food or shopping nearby.
Overall I can recommend this hotel as it is comfortable, clean, and easily accessible. The GM is very customer oriented and will likely deal with any reasonable complaints immediately.

  • Liked — Room quality, morning executive lounge service
  • Disliked — Occasional noise, service problems caused by staff turnover
  • Tips/Secrets — Immediately talk to the GM if you aren't satisfied with any aspect of your stay
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Stayed there for a week while on business. Decent, clean comfortable room...pretty average for this class of hotel. Good breakfast and bar area raised the stakes a bit. The sitting area near the bar must have the loudest fountain in the world, but pleasant. Easy to access from the road and airport. On the whole above average for accom and set up. Staff perhaps not as friendly as could be when asked for help, but I'd just come from the Hilton in Boston where the staff were excellent.

  • Liked — Pleasant bar area
  • Disliked — Staff not as friendly as possible
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chozzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Hartford North/Windsor
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford North/Bradley Int'l Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
7.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport

Property: Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport
Address: 28 Day Hill Rd, Windsor, CT 06095-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport hotel offers many upscale newly renovated hotel accommodations and amenities, but it is our incredible location in Windsor, Connecticut that you will truly appreciate. We are just a short, complimentary shuttle ride from the Bradley International Airport and minutes from downtown Hartford. Our BDL Airport hotel is located near Cigna, Travelers, VOYA, Six Flags New England, the University of Hartford, and Rentschler Field, home of UConn Huskies Football. At the center of our hotel is the Marriott Greatroom; flexible seating and spaces with a contemporary style and design, a coffee bar proudly serving Starbucks® coffee, and a chef-crafted menu of small plates and pours. New Guest rooms feature ultra comfortable bedding, 49-inch LED Smart TVs, and ergonomic work spaces. For your important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities, custom catering and certified wedding planner are perfect for a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hartford/Windsor Marriott Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hartford/Windsor Airport Hotel Windsor
Marriott Windsor
Windsor Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing