We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!”

Tunxis Grill & Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone 860-688-6429
Manchester Center, VT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a night before flying out to California. The front desk recommended this restaurant.
Thank you to Jenn for making our reservation, and to Melissa for great service!
The food was awesome and plentiful! I just wish we had been near home so we could have enjoyed the "leftovers". Food was terrific and nicely priced. Have already recommended to many Vermont friends who travel out of Bradley!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    108
    36
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
1 review
“hit or miss”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have had outstanding meals at this restaurant, returned and ordered the same thing with vastly different plates set before us. For example, last spring and summer we ordered the fish and chips, fresh scrod, and it was the best I have had anywhere. The fish was fresh and flaky and the batter was a beer tempura, light and not at all greasy. Tonight we ordered the fresh scrod and what arrived on our plates was thin, dried out, overcooked, heavy, and tasted like frozen fish. The chips were also frozen fries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Found it by Accident”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Accident on 91 on way to pick up a client in Windsor Locks and took Rte 75 as an alternate. Happened to go by the place on the way to pick him up, changed plans and came back to check it out. Glad we did as it is one of the best restaurants we have been to in a long time.
Two of us had the Seafood Fra Diavolo which was so good with an excellent presentation with the mussels circling the large round bowl loaded with perfectly cooked linguine, an excellent sauce and plenty of shrimp, scallops, calamari, etc. and my wife had the Mac Cheese and Lobster which was also phenomenal. We split an Italian Lemon Cake for dessert and it was also great. The service was excellent and the whole experience was above our expectations, which today is almost unheard of. Will definitely come back. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and gave it a try August 24th. We were not disappointed! The food was wonderful and the ambience was impeccable . Friendly service added to the charm. Would love to go back again to try other dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, our college aged son, and myself ate here on a Friday evening. The food was delicious and the portions were huge! My husband had seafood fra diavalo, my son had a special, baked ziti with sausage and pepperoni and I enjoyed the shepard's pie. We ended up bringing home at least half of the shepard's pie and probably a third of the ziti. For a twenty year old male to not be able to finish the dish you know it must be huge! The only thing I don't like about this place is the parking!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1lamberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunxis Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Tunxis Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing