We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Potato Pizza”

Willington Pizza House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Willington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pizza that made Willington Famous! Also a wide selection of fresh salads, grinders, dinners and appetizers. 20 beers on tap, large wine selection.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Red Potato Pizza”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Love their Red Potato Pizza! That is usually all we ever get though. I prefer take out, because service can be slow sometimes and not always attentive. But the food is EXCELLENT!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
441 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise out in the country”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's tough to find vegan items, especially at a pizza specialty restaurant. Options for us, as strict vegans, were available, and they were good! This definitely has a strong following, and there is good reason. The menu was extensive, and the quality was top shelf. Great atmosphere and a friendly staff make this a must stop if you are any where nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still the best pizza”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I finally made it back to the east coast and my first food of the trip was pizza at Willington pizza. Yum. I Am sure I will be back a few more times before leaving town. Definitely at least once more for a hot has and cheese grinder. Everyone always mentions the outstanding pizza, but their grinders are superb, and their salads are good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPVTravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gives Sally's and Pepe's a Run for their money”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Okay, so first off I've been going to Willington Pizza for YEARS. This is a terrific place with a terrific pizza made in a unique pan that gives it a VERY tasty crust. The toppings are first rate and always fresh. They have some unique types of pizza like chicken and potato-but I'm a onion and green peppers kinda guy. Okay, meatball or sausage sometimes. The people could not be nicer. Good choice of other entrees (only one of which I ever actually ate-you go here for the pizza) and a good selection of bottled soda. I'm a Sally's of Wooster Street fan. Is it as good? Go and find out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful pizza place! Relaxing, good pizza, innovative topping choices. The wooden floor, red checkered tablecloths, low ceilings, pictures of UConn players on the walls, car parts intertwined with the decor, all make this a relaxing place for families, groups of friends or a casual date. Have a beer or glass of wine. No real bar area, you come here to sit with family or friends and eat pizza! Great spot! It does get busy. Take out is available too. Not far from UConn campus but a good place to go off campus. Or if you just dropped off a student or want to take one off campus for a meal. Good food, good value!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Storrs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willington Pizza House also viewed

 
Mansfield, Mystic Country
 

Been to Willington Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing