We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silas W. Robbins House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just returned from our stay in this simply amazing bed and breakfast. Victorian home lovingly restored with finest materials, beautifully decorated and ultra luxurious accomodations. Innkeepers very warm, friendly, respectful of privacy. AMAZING breakfast.
We stayed w/ our teenage daughter -- we all loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niclaur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was the most amazing place to stay. I want to live there. The rooms were incredibly clean, decorated beyond my highest expectations, the food was delicious and the hosts are kind, generous and know exactly how to meet all your needs while leaving you with total privacy! I highly rec'd this B&B to everyone.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rileytobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Wow! Where should I begin? We were treated every morning to a luxurious breakfast out on the three-story mansion's porch, free to sit there all morning watching the people and activities in the park across the street. When we we were there we were treated to the town's Memorial Day Parade... However, every day out on their porch was like being inside a Norman Rockwell painting, as we took in the beautiful surroundings of Whethersfield's historic district.

The inn itself was beautiful on the inside as well...with its thick carpeting, wooden floors and high ceilings, you never felt like anyone else was there, you never felt like you were on top of anyone or crowded in. The hosts, John and Shireen Aforismo, let you basically have the place to yourself. A very nice place to stay.

Also, for allergy sufferersor for those with heightened chemical sensitivities, this place is a great place to stay. No harsh chemicals are used to clean the rooms, and the place overall has a light airy feeling about it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tderoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is an elegant B&B in historic Wethersfield, CT. The innkeepers have lovingly renovated this classic home with attention to every detail. They researched the era to provide each room with period pieces that are exquisite as well as functional. We were pampered as guests and it was truly the best B&B experience we have ever had. If you ever are near the Hartford, CT area, get away from the heart of the city and explore Wethersfield. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed here for one night in early December. The house is located in Wethersfield, a beautiful historic area south of Hartford, a bit like an 18th century country village. The house is a gorgeous old three storey mansion, beautifully renovated and furnished. It was stylishly decorated for Christmas. On arrival, we were welcomed by Shireen who gave us every assistance and recommendations for dinner etc. Our room, the Silas Robbins room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - fruit and homemade blueberry pancakes and coffee. This is a wonderful place to stay on a drive through New England.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greengreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

I flew from Colorado to meet my younger sister (who lives in Vermont and was having a tough time in her life) for a weekend of rest, recuperation and pleasure at this truly fabulous bed and breakfast near Hartford. The place is a mansion - literally - but completely refurbished and newly redone inside, so that you have the feel of living in a Victorian mansion, only in modern times, with modern touches. The innkeepers were friendly, efficient and gracious, but didn't intrude; the town itself was a wonderful place to walk around in. From start to finish, our stay there was a dream come true - and, as my sister wrote in the guest book, a place "where a soul was healed."

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

I grew up in Wethersfield and was home recently for the holidays, so we took a few rooms at the Silas Robbins House (the Fluer de Li and the Cupids and Roses). I am not a fan of bed and breakfasts generally, but this was an absolute treat. This is the most amazing renovation that I have ever seen, so the place is in great condition. (Hard to picture in your head if you have ever been to a B&B before).

One of the best features is the owners themselves (which to me can be the biggest risk of a B&B). Very pleasant, very attentive, but very respectful of your privacy.

I give this experience my highest rating! The SRH is not even comparable to other B&Bs in the area Chester Bulkley, etc.

  • Liked — Everything. Rooms, Service, Breakfast, etc
  • Disliked — its still in Wethersfield, CT
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
3.9 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
4.3 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silas W. Robbins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas W. Robbins House

Property: Silas W. Robbins House
Address: 185 Broad St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-3133
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 by Silas Robbins, the House is a sophisticated and elegant representation of the Second Empire design. The House is listed on the National Registry. It is located in the oldest community and in the largest historic district of Connecticut; a treasure of a home, brought back to its previous grandeur. It is magnificently restored to its original splendor and upgraded with all the amenities including air conditioning. Enjoy the Victorian charm of the House while we enchant you with our hospitality! Visit us in historic Old Wethersfield, CT, overlooking the scenic Broad Street Green. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing