We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Restored B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silas W. Robbins House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silas W. Robbins House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Silas W. Robbins House in early March. We enjoy bed & breakfasts and this is one of the nicest at which we have ever stayed. Shireen and John are lovely hosts and serve a scrumptious breakfast. As we were the only guests in the house, they upgraded us to the nicest room at no additional charge, something which not all b&bs do. We got a tour of the house and one does not want to miss the before and after photos in an album in the front parlor which show exactly how much Shireen and John had to put into the house to restore it to its former grandeur and then some. Next time my wife and I are in the Hartford area, we will again stay at the Silas W. Robbins House.

Room Tip: The Cupids and Roses Room where we ended up staying was a lovely, spacious, and comfortable room, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My home is contemporary and I consider myself an experienced domestic traveler. So why would I choose a B&B over the hotels and boutique hotels? Because, I had heard other friends of mine tell me how great the Silas W. Robbins House was and I just had to try it. So I pull down Broad St, not really knowing what to expect but find myself approaching the most memorable stay I have ever experienced. The B&B is newly renovated but carries a charm of days past. I walked in the front doors and I the journey was magical. The decor and colors and materials chosen are exquisite. A true masterpiece of design, architecture, and ambiance.

I was on a business trip but I forgot all about my client, and agendas as I snuggled into a queen bed and experienced the comfort of elegant surroundings. I smiled and sent pictures to my friends and family of my room to share in the delight of such a special place! The bathroom was updated as well. Again inviting and warm. I had the option of a a luxurious bath or a "rain shower" shower. I opted for the shower which was perfect. I then had breakfast prepared by the innkeeper, Shireen Aforismo which was so delicious that I almost forgot about my appointment and new clients on my agenda. You have to try this B&B I promise you that your stay will be enchanting. Thank you John and Shireen for a magical stay! Sincerely, Lisa Garofoli

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Even though our trip was last September, I vowed that I would write a review of the Silas Robbins House which was the very most charming place we stayed on our 18 day New England tour. The house and setting are gorgeous, the breakfast out on the front "porch" was not only so beautiful it required photographs but also delicious and John and Shireen were just what you hope for as hosts of a bed and breakfast. It was right after Hurricane Irene and we were the only guests that night and they gave us our choice of any room in the house.

We have raved about the Robbins house and shown photos to our friends ever since.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegramj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was in town to work with Hartford Schools and wanted to find a B&B rather than a downtown hotel. I was so pleased with this amazingly gorgeous home! It was very clean, stately, and comfortable. The details they have put into the restoration are amazing. I walked around wide eyed at the beauty. It was very convenient to drive into Hartford and gave me the charm of being in the Northeast rather than staying at a hotel I can stay in anywhere in the US. Great place!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We actually live in Connecticut but we were going to the Hartford Plant and Garden Show and thought we would find some place fun and interesting to stay. We drove up to Wethersfield on a friday night and stayed at the Silas W. Robbins house. What a wonderful place! It is a beautiful restored victorian home. The owners have spared no expense and have unbelievable attention to detail. The fixtures, artwork, wall hangings...all beautiful.

We were able to walk to dinner at Lucky Lou's in the town center.

Service was friendly and helpful. The owners loaned us an umbrella for our walk into town which was nice. Breakfast was wonderful and we were 15 minutes from downtown Hartford. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the Hartford area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_MikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We traveled through New England for two weeks this summer, staying at a variety of Bed and Breakfasts and Country Inns, and the Silas B. Robbins House was the best of all. The breakfast is excellent, the accomodations superb, and the hosts gracious and welcoming. If you are withn a hundred miles of the Wethersfield-Hartford area, you owe it to yourself to stay here. We live in Texas, and we're trying to find a way to get back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerSanAntonio_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

How BEAUTIFUL!!! This place is what a B&B should be, and I’ve stayed in many. The owners should be given some sort of award for restoring this glorious old house to its present condition. Every detail is perfect. We only stayed overnight, but I wanted to spend more time just to walk around the house, the porch, and the gardens to take it all in. I took photos, but they simply cannot do the house justice. You have to be there to experience it for yourself, especially when you see the “before” photos of this grand mansion in shambles. The owners virtually resurrected it from the ashes and saved this precious piece of history for others to enjoy. Thank you John and Shireen for your labor of love, and for being such gracious hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitoutngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
3.9 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.2 mi away
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silas W. Robbins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas W. Robbins House

Property: Silas W. Robbins House
Address: 185 Broad St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-3133
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 by Silas Robbins, the House is a sophisticated and elegant representation of the Second Empire design. The House is listed on the National Registry. It is located in the oldest community and in the largest historic district of Connecticut; a treasure of a home, brought back to its previous grandeur. It is magnificently restored to its original splendor and upgraded with all the amenities including air conditioning. Enjoy the Victorian charm of the House while we enchant you with our hospitality! Visit us in historic Old Wethersfield, CT, overlooking the scenic Broad Street Green. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing