We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home made italian food in Wethersfield- friendly service”
Review of Vito's Pizzeria

Vito's Pizzeria
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Wethersfield
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great home made italian food in Wethersfield- friendly service”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you are looking for friendly service and delicious food then try Vito's Pizzeria. It is so much more than pizza!
I went for dinner with my daughter while were in the area after a DR appointment.

SERVICE Our waitress, Simone; was super friendly, attentive and very helpful with menu suggestions.

FOOD We ordered: walnut cranberry salad, eggplant parmesan and shrimp scampi. All items were scrumptious. The shrimp scampi had amazing flavor, the shrimp were big and tender. The sauce was prepared with a hint of fresh lemon and a capers. . The eggplant was the best around by far. Very nice portion sizes as well.

LOCATION In a strip mall with plenty of parking.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Veal around”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

For the money, Vito's food is a great deal. We go there often. Between the bread and either soup or salad, you can be almost filled before your mead arrives. They have great service, the prices are very fair, the portions are huge and you leave very happy.

Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hawaiian Pizza!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Not always a consistent place to dine but when they're on their game you can't lose with the Hawaiian. They make it with a little kick and I never enjoyed Hawaiian pizza before but now I love it at Vito's

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotkids34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
211 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“It has changed”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I have eaten at Vitos in Wethersfield for years, although we now live about 20 miles away. We like the homey, comfortable, boothy atmosphere, with the apricot faux stucco walls-painted italian style. Our favorites were the make your own pasta bolognaise- filled with sliced garlic, the hot rolls, salads with interesting greens, and the deep dish meat lovers pizza. The prices and portions were always reasonable compared to other restaurants. There is live piano music in the bar, which can be heard in the dining room-not too loudly. Recently the prices have risen sharply...from the pasta to the beer and wine. Food prices have gone up everywhere, so we could excuse that...except that the taste of the dishes have gone down, and are no longer consistent. We understand that there are 2 new chefs, but the bolognaise this week that my husbend had was almost a rose sauce and very tomatoey. I ordered the chicken francaise for the very first time, as the dish is on the pricey side, but the bolognaise is now the same price. I love chicken francaise, but the chicken had no hint of crispness and was in a yellow chicken soup-like sauce. For the last year or so, we have periodically been assigned to a waitress who I'm sure thinks her humor and comments are just fine, but they are very annoying. She just never stops, and likes to think she is your friend. After this last dinner, my husband said due to the waitress, wait for this waitress to even know we were assigned to her, long wait for food, price of the dinner, and the inconsistency of the food...he was sadly thinking of not going to Vitos again for a long time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Vito's Pasta Dinner in Wethersfield, CT”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In the mood for some pasta, but on a somewhat tight time schedule, we were in the area and chose to dine at the Vito's in Wethersfield, our first in many years. We both ordered the "Make Your Own" pasta dinner, where you select the ingredients, opting for one Marinara and Sausage, and one with a Bolognese sauce. Both entrees were excellent, and we also enjoyed the bread, small side salad and dressings that came with the meal. Being an early and quiet Monday evening, albeit the MLK holiday, we were surprised at the length of time it took for the pasta to be served, though the waitstaff was personable, prompt, attentive to our needs, and we will surely return in the near future.

(We've been intending to dine here for quite some time, since we have become disenchanted with their Hartford location. This location had more of the home town feel than the more upscale atmosphere in the downtown location. Our main problem has been that we just haven't been comfortable in finding menu items that matched our appetite on those occasions, and in our opinion not worth the pricey charges they require to survive in that environment.)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeridenTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vito's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing