We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sushi”

Ginza Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Wethersfield
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ginza Japanese Cuisine is a fine dining establishment that features authentic Japanese fare with French flare. Ginza sushi bar serves everything from the traditional California roll to Toro tartar and from the kitchen our corporate chef's offerings span from chicken teriyaki to grilled filet mignon of beef finished in a red wine demi-glaze. All our dishes are made fresh daily and they are available at very affordable prices. Here at Ginza we have always been successful due to a few simple ingredients we will not compromise service, quality, and freshness. We hope to see you soon! We are located just a few minutes from Wethersfield Country Club, north of Town Line Shopping Center. Order online for carryout!
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
341 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I can't claim to be a real expert in sushi. I'm still figuring out how to rate it. I used to order pieces of sushi or sashimi, and rate just on the basis of the flavor of the tuna, salmon, whitefish, etc. Now, I'm starting to explore the special rolls. Based on this later method, this restaurant would get a top rating.
I sat at the sushi bar. It was lunch, and I was on the road between appointments. The complimentary seared white tuna salad was excellent. I had mushroom soup instead of the miso, and that was an interesting and enjoyable flavor. The chef's Ginza special roll was also an excellent combination of ingredients with a very tasty sauce. If I had stopped there, this would have rated an excellent, but for some reason, I also had a sample of their whitefish sushi. It was just not that fresh or tasty. Maybe if I had selected another item, I would have been completely thrilled, but this really brought it down a little.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Outstanding”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Always a great Sushi night out. Once you have tried this place, it is difficult to go elsewhere for sushi. The best around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lunch portions are large. Very fresh. Nice atmosphere. Crowded at lunch and a bit slow. Did not take long to get the food but took a while to get the check, was late back to work.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank episarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“A serendipitous sushi revelation!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just happened upon this place by accident as we got caught in a huge blizzard on treacherously icy Route 91 on our way home from Vermont, pulled over at the first possible exit, and had the enormous good fortune to find a room available at the Motel 6 just off the highway. As we were looking at the menus in the lobby, the front desk clerk generously suggested that we come here for dinner instead. It was walking distance, practically next door, and we walked into a quiet, charming, classy paradise, where we spent the evening enjoying some of the best sushi we've had in ages. The service was incredible--our server was friendly and attentive but not overbearing, very knowledgeable about the menu, and helpful in recommending the best choices. We sat at the bar where we could gaze at the Weather Channel thanking heaven that we weren't still out there on the roads! The menu is extensive and has some unique rolls--some of which are QUITE expensive, but there are also much cheaper choices among the simpler rolls and appetizers. I had a delicious mushroom/chicken broth soup for only $3, and a large portion of edamame is just $4. They also have a spicy garlic version of edamame that is delicious. They make sushi with brown rice if you request it! The atmosphere was wonderful, the manager and chefs and servers all clearly take pride in their work, and we were completely satisfied with our meal. It's very nice that they are open till 11 pm on weekends too, and they seem to have some excellent deals on lunch specials during the day. Anyway, this snow delay ended up being a windfall for us! Now we know where to stop in the future on any trips between NYC and points north!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Cuisine in the Hartford Area”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There's a reason why Ginza keeps winning the Advocate's Best Japanese Cuisine -- because it is. Ginza in Wethersfield is a spacious and pristine restaurant with excellent food. The quality if first rate -- always well prepared. The staff is friendly and attentive without being overbearing. I love this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginza Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Wethersfield, CT
Wethersfield, CT
 

Been to Ginza Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing