We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, excellent food, fine value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Lou's Bar and Grill

Lucky Lou's Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Wethersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern American cuisine..All fish served wild caught, never frozen.. All beef products grass fed . ( Piedmontese beef line from Nebraska.. All vegetable hand sourced from Exec chef Lucas Kyriakos..
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, excellent food, fine value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This restaurant was rated tops by Tripadvisor, so it seemed worth a chance. We were seated promptly. The menu offered a number of good choices. Being a cheapskate I ordered the sliders (only $10) with a glass of water. Not only were they excellent, but the fries were too. Hard to get good fries nowadays!
Old Wethersfield is populated by very friendly and kind people. I have always liked doing business there. So I felt right at home.
The waitress apologized for a moderate wait, but they were busy and it was Saturday night. No problem.
Some of the paintings on the wall were, however, very depressing. When I mentioned that to the waitress she agreed and said the help felt the same way. Nice to be validated!
Definitely will go again and recommend it to friends and fellow tightwads.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    71
    19
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Been there a few times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great beer on tap, the Calimari app is great as is the French onion soup.

Helpful?
Thank Forfeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“interesting place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We got a recommendation for dinner from the B&B where we were staying in Wethersfield. The restaurant is in a very old, large house in Old Wethersfield. A lot of character and history, fireplaces everywhere. It was a casual, fun place with people enjoying themselves. The service was friendly if not exceptionally efficient. The lighting was a bit bright to be called romantic.

Our food was quite good. We got the Mozarella tower as an appetizer to share, I got the Pastrami burger and my wife got the Paella. All was delicious. We wish we had a place like this close to home.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CT_MikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of fun at Lucky Lou's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

In the summer, their porch is their bright spot. They have great music on the weekends and the food is very good. We go a little later, when the crowds slow down, order a drink and hang out and listen to the music of the night.

Helpful?
Thank LaurenC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good service, liked the food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Service was stellar. We were a group of 50, and the waitress was a delight. She kept everything straight and was so pleasant. I didn't order fancy fare, but enjoyed what I got, and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterJJCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Lou's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Lou's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing