We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations covered up the defects”
Review of The Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westport Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was up this past weekend for a college graduation and spent three nights (Rm 225) with an open window and a pedestal fan as the A/C was not yet turned on site-wide (only the heat was functioning) - a fan was the best they could do. Weather was warm and damp and the room was uncomfortable for good sleeping. Down comfortors were still on the beds (not real queen sized). We did get the refrigerator that we requested but everything inside froze after 2 days -
Room cleanup never occured til after 1PM and after the first night, some towels were missing, like extra hand towel or wash cloths. No complimentary toiletries were replenished. If I'd called for every issue, it would have been 3x a day. The first night they came promptly to give us the fans, then came again a few hours later when the TV would not respond to either remote or onset controls - the plug was twisted in the back (I could not reach it to see). Breakfast in the on-site restaurant was tasty but service was limited with one server to attend all the patrons - on a Saturday morning. We ate elsewhere after that.
I've stayed here a few times before in the past 4 years and it was actually much better, even while undergoing renovations 2 years ago. So what happened??? This was a no vacancy weekend!!

Room Tip: ask questions before hand - there is no elevator.....rooms in back are quieter. Are you allergic to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Paul B, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Maude,
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts on your stay at the Westport Inn this past weekend. I am terribly sorry that you had a far from perfect stay. Please know that I will be sending you an e-mail, to the address that you have on your reservation, to further discuss the problems you encountered.
Sincerely,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were very pleased with The Westport Inn for a recent wedding. We had a larger room in the annex building which was very clean, modern and spacious. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful and the small restaurant and bar were a great gathering place for early risers and late night visiting. The young people enjoyed the indoor pool. The banquet facilities were beautiful and very professionally managed by Antoinella and her staff and the catered food was delicious. This was a great set up for the many out of town guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We paid $199.00 Saturday night, $169.00 Sunday night and were totally ripped off. The room was tiny offering nothing but a shower, blow dryer and coffee maker. My husband was so angry that there was no mini refrigerator for the $370 plus dollars that we spent for two nights. The two beds were smaller than queen size, the heat was blasting over 80 degrees, the AC didn't work so that we couldn't sleep. No continental breakfast. They wanted to charge me over $2 for a lousy cup of coffee, so I had to drive down the street to Dunkin Donuts for a decent cup of coffee. Our experience was so bad for the amount of money we paid, we will never stay there ever again! We would have been happier sleeping in our car!

Room Tip: Motel 6 would have been better. Breakfast? There was NO breakfast! Dunkin Donuts was breakfast ! And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Refreshed hotel; clean, comfortable accommodation in a good location. Stayed in a basic room for about a week and found the service and staff pleasant, attentive, and helpful overall.. -Mr. Brady was a particular stand out, -a consummate professional. He addressed inquiries regarding the hotel's business/computer center and was also knowledgeable about local area and services. -Would visit again and would recommend for events/meetings.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear building have higher quality accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 786MegGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

its a nice place, provides value for the money, restaurant menu needs to be reworked....staff is very nice. Rear building offer a good value for money.Banquet hall is very nice great place for mid size business parties.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightcrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A standard room (meaning older room) is very small, even with two queen beds in it. The air-conditioner is programed to only be on(functioning) when there is movement in the room. So basically, when your sleeping or sitting still, the air shuts off. It took me several visits from the hotel engineering department and a couple of calls to the front desk, before someone finally told me why the room couldn't get any cooler. So I stated we were going to leave. The front desk said that they would let us stay in another building (newer room) for the same cost.. The room had it's own air-condtioner and was more spacious. So we stayed. We also found out the indoor pool was not open because another patron "broke a glass in there". The pool remained closed for our entire stay. At home, when my charge card bill came i noticed they charged me an additional $50 for the upgraded room! What a shame.

Room Tip: Do not go with the standard room, fixtures are old, some broken. There is no space to walk around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ziahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at The Westport Inn. I am sorry for the difficulty you experienced with our heating & air conditioning system and the closing of our pool. We take guest safety very seriously and this was an unfortunate incident where we had to make sure no one was injured from the broken glass. Our Manager will be contacting you to correct the $50 charge. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this hotel through priceline, so for $60 a night, it was fine. The location was perfect for my needs but everything else was mediocre at best. I stayed for 10 nights, but at check out was only asked about my last night's stay. The hotel has been "remodeled", more like slapping lipstick on a pig. It is an old motel from the 60's (I grew up in the area, so I know it really has not changed much)with the front building having doors that open to, at times, a very loud parking lot, especially after people had been drinking at the bar and yelling at each other across the parking lot on the way to their rooms. Doors certainly have not changed since the 60's, had to put pillows against the door at night to keep out the air coming in the bottom of the door. Plugs were few and far in between and so old, they would not hold "modern" plugs, they just fell out. They had extension cords running all under the desk for power. Pretty sure this is not up to fire code! Had to unplug either the lamp, coffee maker, and/or TV to plug in chargers, laptops and the iron. Closet door fell off and had to ask twice to have someone come fix it. When he finally did, he seemed annoyed and there was never an apology for the door falling on me! Housekeeping was a joke. Several days, I got no coffee for the cheap one cup coffee maker. Saw others mention coffee and snacks in the lobby, there was never anything there when I checked.Had to ask front desk twice for coffee before actually getting some. Towels were not always replaced. If I had 4 dirty towels, I might get one or two clean ones in return. Housekeeping showed up whenever they felt like it at all different times of day. I waited to go to the fitness center one day as the housekeeper was in the room next door. Had to stop her as she left the area for another part of the building to have her clean my room? Why wouldn't you clean the rooms in succession??? All in all, very disappointed, but not as much as some of these people who paid $199 a night. It is a $60 motel at best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at The Westport Inn. We have addressed your issues and taken steps to improve the shortcomings you experienced. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
361 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 11 in Norwalk
430 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Inn

Address: 1595 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $101 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Westport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the Connecticut coast by booking at The Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located off U.S. Route 1 in Westport, Connecticut. This hotel is within close proximity to area attractions that include the Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, Compo Beach, Sherwood Island State Park and the Westport Country Playhouse. At the hotel, take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free bike rentals and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space. Additional amenities include free wi-fi, an indoor pool and copy and fax services. Guest rooms and suites (some pet-friendly) offer luxurious bedding, upgraded toiletries, flat-screen televisions with cable, coffee makers, pillow-top mattresses, hairdryers, iPod docking stations, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms offer refrigerators and sofa sleepers. Enjoy convenience and service at the Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Westport, CT. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westport Hotel Westport
The Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing