We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place for a little getaway”
Review of The Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westport Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I went to the Westport Inn with a girlfriend for a midweek night. We were looking for a mini-retreat. We purchased the spa package which included breakfast, two cocktails at the hotel lobby bar, and a gift certificate to a nearby spa. I wasn't so sure about the place as i drove up as it looked like a 1960s motel, which it used to be. However, the hotel just completed a $4 million renovation and was very nice on the inside. Our room had a noisy fan, and when we mentioned it to the front desk, they switched us right away to another room on the second floor facing away from the main road. Inside the room was decorate beautifully and everything looked new. The beds were especially comfy, but the hot water was a bit tempermental. The pool is a little depressing and it wasn't quite warm enough to justify a swim. Breakfast was ok - nothing special. The spa was a strange little place, but the massages were great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back and on the second floor. Don't select a room facing the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngr1595, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thanks so much for coming to visit. The folks at Pia Lauren Spa, are amazing. I hope you got to try the skin care line! So glad the desk was quick to respond to your concerns.

Safe Travels,
Yolande Lacan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 210 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just came back from the Westport inn. We used a promotion from Travelzoo, which included a night stay and a $50 coupon at the restaurant. We travel a lot and we use good hotels/resorts.
This is a small hotel which has been recently renovated. The new building has the pool and the fitness center. The rooms are bigger that the rooms in the front but the furniture is new and the same in both buildings. You can upgrade for $30. The place is inmaculate and the staff very nice, polite and helpful. Thanks Antonella for your good advice and friendly manners.
The restaurant is very small but the food is good. What else you can ask for??

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngr1595, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you Monica! We are so glad you had a good time. My favorite rooms are the back building as well ; )

Safe travels,

Yolande Lacan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was a gift to come out and have a couples weekend. We thought it would be run to get away before the work kept us both apart and working lots of hours on different projects. Wish the hotel had a hot tub, or heat in the restrooms by the pool -- it was like trying to change outside back there. Pool was okay. Hard to find and get to, with the lack of signage. Wished we had asked to be closer to the pool, as it would have been in the same building. 50 dollar coupon was used very quickly at Breakfast, but we enjoyed the fresh juice and the service there - probably the highlight of the weekend. Not sure if I would go back or try to find something else.

Room Tip: Request something in the back, not that we got to see the rooms, but that's where the pool was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Westport Inn after last staying at this property 2 1/2 years ago. I was pleasently surprised to find that this property has recently completed a renovation. The new lobby/restaurant/ and rooms were fantastic and have a upscale residential feel. Service was friendly and the WiFi was incredible! I am sure they are still working out the kinks after such a transformation, but the new product/service is well worth trying. I have stayed at other area branded properties, they were all pretty much standard fair hotels and not renovated or the quality of this properties guest rooms and service. Crystal at the desk was very helpful in making dinner reservations and the courtesy van driver that took me to the restaurant was great. They are still finishing renovation details, but the friendly service and new rooms really made my stay enjoyable. I will be back!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and book the second floor Deluxe building rooms, they have vaulted ceilings whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtbsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngr1595, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thanks so much for the kind comments! We continue to bring something new to the table every day. And you are so right the vaulted ceiling rooms are the best. We love Krystal too, and she has great recommendations.

Safe travels,

Yolande Lacan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

You can imagine how excited my husband and I were when my parents gave a night away from our 15 month old son as a Christmas present... the Westport Inn was a complete disappointment. First, it is a motel. Second, our room had peeling wallpaper and a huge water-stain in the ceiling. As part of the deal my parents got, we had a $50 voucher for their restaurant that could be used for dinner or breakfast. The menu on their website looked delicious for breakfast, so we decided to use it for breakfast. Much to our disappointment, when we came downstairs sunday morning, their only offering was a buffet with watery eggs and stale bagels for $15!!! When I asked why they weren't serving their normal breakfast, I was informed that they had changed their policy for breakfast on Sundays. I called the manager after our disappointing stay and was not even acknowledged with a courtesy return call.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELLENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngr1595, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

As you mentioned we were not prepared to handle the popularity of the holiday flash sale. I am so sorry you were disappointed. We made a judgment call to offer the buffet on the busy flash sale days to be better able to accommodate guests more quickly in our cozy restaurant. We were wrong, our guests are preferring the a la carte. We are now sending an email prior to arrival asking people to make reservations for dinner prior to arrival and to remind that everyone can not fit for breakfast between 9:45am and 11:00am.
Thank you,
Yolande Lacan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Downs:

When I got there with my guest, we were told that the indoor pool was not working (a highlight listed on the groupon deal) and the staff member rudely told me that there was nothing she can do. I asked to speak to the manager and again, she said.. "well, there's nothing she can do for you either." Not satisfied, I stood there in awe of her attitude and finally she took down my number to have the manager call me back. I believe her first name started with an M. Microwaves and refrigerators are also not included. You have to pay separately for them.

Ups:
At the Front Desk, a staff member named Crystal was very respectful and sweet throughout the entire stay. When I asked for activities around the area, she quickly printed out a list of venues and activity ideas. The waitress at the onsite restaurant was also very sweet although I don't recall her name. The room was very clean and comfortable!

Suggestions:
1. If you're looking forward to the indoor pool, call ahead to make sure it's working.
2. Hard to enjoy the area in the winter. Not many indoor activities. Try to aim for spring/summer to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngr1595, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I appreciate your candid comments and wanted to assure you that our goal is for ALL our employees be courteous, welcoming and well informed. I am glad Krystal and Alexa fulfilled those expectations so sorry that all of our team members did not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sigiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora G, General Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
361 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
6.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 11 in Norwalk
430 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Inn

Address: 1595 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $102 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Westport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the Connecticut coast by booking at The Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located off U.S. Route 1 in Westport, Connecticut. This hotel is within close proximity to area attractions that include the Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, Compo Beach, Sherwood Island State Park and the Westport Country Playhouse. At the hotel, take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free bike rentals and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space. Additional amenities include free wi-fi, an indoor pool and copy and fax services. Guest rooms and suites (some pet-friendly) offer luxurious bedding, upgraded toiletries, flat-screen televisions with cable, coffee makers, pillow-top mattresses, hairdryers, iPod docking stations, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms offer refrigerators and sofa sleepers. Enjoy convenience and service at the Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Westport, CT. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westport Hotel Westport
The Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing