We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Venue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Longshore
Ranked #1 of 1 Westport B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I held our reception at Long Shore and found the venue, the food, and the staff exemplary. The room was tastefully and beautifully decorated with garland, white lights, and a few Christmas trees. The wedding was for over 200 and even still the food came out as if they were serving just a handful of people. A number of our guests commented on how delicious everything tasted. We did not stay at the Inn that night, but we did use one of their suites during the wedding and it was a fantastic touch that allowed us to have a quiet spot to sit down and grab a few moments to ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed one night and were awoken at sometime just after 3am by a fire alarm.
The police and fire department came and all the guests (including one infant and one toddler) had to vacate their rooms and sit downstairs in the lobby and in a rear conference room. The front doors to the Inn were kept wide open the entire time and this made the lobby quite cold.

Eventually around 4:30am we were all allowed to return to our rooms.
Upon check out the next morning I suggested to the desk clerk that there ought to be some discount offered to guests for being so disturbed during the night. After much back-and-forth with the clerk I did receive a 50% discount off our bill. But I was still appalled that the owner of the Inn had not bothered to make any type of apology to his us for the events of the previous night.
The desk clerk never bothered to apologize either. What more can one say about such a place?

Well, did I mention the dirty carpets on the stairs and upstairs hallway? Or the lumpy, worn-out mattress? How about the old-style TV so far from the bed I had to wear my driving glasses to watch it? There was also a twenty-year reunion party - with a live band - for the Westport highschool which we knew about upon checking in. It lasted until around midnight. What we did not count on was the noisy cleaning crew who came in afterwards and made almost as much noise as the party had for at least an hour more. All in all, not much sleep was had that night.

Additional quirks:
- We noticed a hotel employee was sleeping across the hall from us in a much better room (with water view) than what we were given (a view of the parking lot.)
During the night, the same employee made a pot of coffee right before we were all allowed back in to our rooms. It was a kind, if belated gesture which I admit was lost on me since I am not a coffee drinker and all I wanted at that point was to go back to sleep. I noticed this man had peculiar shoes which curled up at the toe sort of like an elf's shoe. It's an odd detail about that night that I shall always remember.

When Things Got Strange (er)
(This is worth mentioning since it really rounds out the entire picture of our experience that night.)

There was a heavily inebriated man - a left over from the reunion - who had been sleeping on the sofa in the lobby when the alarm went off. As guests filed downstairs to our nocturnal exile, he was loudly cursing within earshot of all at the situation and at having to share the lobby sofa with those who had been displaced from their rooms.

About the only plus to this place is the location. It might be fine to come for a daytime event here but I would not recommend anyone spend the night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chussey, Director of Sales at The Inn at Longshore, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
The Inn at Longshore specializes in weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, reunions, and corporate events and we have 12 guest rooms which typically are occupied by the guests attending the events. While I truly apologize for the fire alarm going off and inconveniencing your family, the safety and welfare of the guests takes priority.

We did, in fact, have a reunion at The Inn at Longshore on the evening in which you stayed. We always alert guests upon checking in that this is the case if we have events going on. This is a fun, lively environment and we would prefer if the party goers are "safe" and stay with us. While I cannot control the unfortunate circumstances with the intoxicated person, our primary business model is for weddings and events.

I also believe that the "employee" in which was described was acting out of a true genuine gesture of kindness to offer a hot cup of coffee on a cold fall evening.

Thank you for your frank review and I wish that you had a better experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We were visiting Fairfield University and decided to stay at the Inn at Long Shore. It does have a beautiful venue for a wedding. However, upon check-in, we were not shown around at all, just left on our own. I had to ask if breakfast was included. The person at the desk did not tell us where it was served. I had to ask where to park my car. The rugs were worn and the room was dusty. The towels were of poor quality for the type of inn I had expected this to be.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maine413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I can't answer but whatever that word is, the Longshore deserves it. My wife and I were recently married at the Inn (march 27, 2010) and it was absolutely amazing. From the planning stages with Kacy to the evenings festivities with Eddie (I hope that is his name) everything went smoothly. Every request we had was handled better than we could have imagined. The staff was super attentive and VERY polite. I wish I could give some constructive criticism, but I really can't think of anything that went wrong or could have gone better.

We used one of the rooms as a bridal suite where the bridal party hung out before the introductions and the staff made sure we got to sample all the hors d'oeuvres and our cups never went dry. As the night progressed, we never saw the staff slack in anything. The food portions were large, especially for a wedding.

So in closing, THANK YOU Longshore for helping to make our day better than we could have ever envisioned.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank den748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had our wedding in at the Inn at Longhore in Westport, CT and we have nothing but glowing reviews to share. The entire staff is an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. They were very accomodating and highly responsive to any of our needs. We didn't have to worry about a thing - they are a well oiled machine! The Inn itself is beautiful and is the perfect setting for a wedding in any season. The Long Island South provides the perfect backdrop for photos, and the reception room itself is warm and inviting. The food received rave reviews from our guests as well. It was truly the best place to have a wedding and we'd recommend it to anyone looking for a spot!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

After the wind and rain storm of 2010 We were left without lights and heat. We had called every hotel in the area no one had a room. We called the longshore inn and they had one last room. Jamie was very helpful and everyone was very kind. thank you. It was nice to have a warm room with hot water and heat. We are planning to revisit the inn for our 25th Anniversary this november.
thank You
Donna and Burt
Riverside, CT

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedee060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly... sweet room, well cared for, friendly people at the desk, and nice, though simple, buffet breakfast, which can be eaten on the terrace. We read or relaxed on Adirondack chairs facing the sound, and I walked over to the sailing school and rented a kayak. We liked having a drink at the Longshore bar, and we sampled cuisine in Westport and surrounding towns. The only frustration was in facing that beautiful water and not being able to jump in right there at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
3.7 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
200 reviews
4.6 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
422 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Longshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longshore

Property: The Inn at Longshore
Address: 260 Compo Rd S, Westport, CT 06880-6535
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Longshore was once a private estate built in 1890 and is one of the premier locations in Fairfield County to host your wedding, bar/bat mitzvah, corporate holiday party, seminar, company picnic...or to stay in one of our 12, quaint guest rooms. Enjoy golf, sailing, swimming, kayaking, or tennis during your summer stay, or go ice skating in the winter. Handicap accessible to all event space. The guest rooms are located on the second and third floors of the building. Complimentary parking and complimentary continental breakfast 7 days a week. The Inn at Longshore is considered the "Jewel" of Westport, CT and is nestled between an 18-hole golf course and Long Island Sound. The rooms offer original antiques, coffee maker, ironing board, and high-speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Longshore Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing