We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food and no follow up”

Viva Zapata Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrible food and no follow up”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took our family here and most dishes were mediocre and one - a salad entree - was terrible. I wrote a letter of complaint to manager and got zero response.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    11
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Margaritas and Guacamole”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love this restaurant. Great atmosphere (especially in the warm weather when you can sit outside) and the BEST margaritas and guacamole. Do miss it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Yummy food, unique atmosphere”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm not sure if I ate at the same place as some of these other reviews. :). I thought their food was very, very good. The taco shells are not from a box like a lot of other Mexican restaurants that I've been to- they are homemade and fried to a crispy crunch, yet absorbs the sauce of whatever meat it is wrapped around. Amazing! The guacamole was delicious, too; fresh, chunky, with and just refreshing. The beans were outstanding- full of flavor and delicious- possibly the best beans I've had at a restaurant. Yes, the prices were high. Look where you are. It's not Taco Bell or Baja Fresh. The food came out piping hot and cooked to order. Outstanding! We can't wait to come back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3kidzlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
246 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good West-Mex”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While it's difficult to find really good Mexican food outside of Manhattan, Westport's Viva Zapata fits the bill, at least until you can get back to NYC.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLeblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love that Mexican Chicken Dish”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

People keep going back for warm rustic interior and the well known dishes. Great margaritias served in mason jars. Go with a group of friends and sit in one of the small cozy alcoves. It's great!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Zapata Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viva Zapata Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing