We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upbeat and great food”
Review of bartaco Westport

bartaco Westport
Ranked #4 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired by a healthy, outdoor lifestyle, bartaco combines fresh, upscale street food with a coastal vibe in a relaxed environment. bartaco is specialty cocktails crafted with fresh-squeezed juices, beer out of a bottle, and hand-held foods delivered on metal trays. The rustic beach resort design complements the spirited bold and bright flavors of bartaco’s eclectic menu. The stylish ambience, cocktails, and freshly prepared tacos and “not tacos” create an unforgettable experience.
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upbeat and great food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently checked out the new restaurant - Bartaco situation along the Saugatuck River in Westport. The location fits perfectly with the flare of the restaurant. The wait staff is very attentive to the needs of the customers. Food simple and delicious. Quantities are not "oversized" but perfect. I would definitely recommend Bartaco. Though expect to wait as the restaurant is in high demand even on a Tuesday night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutNAbout5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One HOT place in Westport”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Any, and every, night of the week, Bartaco is the hottest spot in Westport, and that is NOT damning with faint praise. One drawback is that reservations are NOT accepted, in spite of comments to the contrary. So, you may have a wait; and, if you have kids, that will not be fun.

But, once inside, you will see a restaurant thick with people, in some instances packed 6-deep at the bar. So, it is much better for you to have a table, and let the waiter fight the crowd on your behalf.

Food is innovative, and the wait staff is young, so they aren't jaded. The ambiance is very pleasant. A second drawback is that parking (across the street) is not well-marked, and, in fact, appears to indicate that restaurant parking is not allowed.

Margaritas are good, bar list of tequilas (at different ages) is extensive (but no Herradura), and selections of tacos are very good. Strongly recommend to go multiple times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WGibson648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“are you kidding me? the food is wildly overrated”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

for starters you should know that i live in westport and we go out to restaurants frequently. The atmosphere is very upbeat. on friday nights for example (and thursdays and saturdays), the place has been packed with a vibrant scene...alot of the scene is a singles sort of scene...almost feels like the hamptons. it takes along time to get seated etc. i also went there for lunch w/ my wife on july 4...that was much more manageable. the first time we went there, we sat at the bar w friends...after a bunch of drinks, we ordered food at the bar...it was fun and the food seemed reasonable...however...we went back during the day and, without, drinks, the emperor had no clothes....the guacamole was tastless and cold (as if frozen before), the baja fish taco was barely edible and the food we realized was basically bad...the service was ok ...the atmosphere is great and there is outdoor dining overlooking the river and the backside of main street in westport...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rsaluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location in Westport and good food too”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I tried Bar Taco at lunch. We had tried on a Sarruday night but were met with a 90 minute wait for a table so we did not stay. We got a table at lunch right away on a beautiful, hot summer day. While the food is interesting and generally quite good, the location on the Saugutuck River in the center of Westport makes the experience. The space has been there a while but until this restaurant was established nothing else worked. We shared four different tacos, cheese quesadilla, and rice bowl with chicken. Except for the rib eye taco, all were quite good, particularly the cheese quesadilla and the rice bowl. I would recommend Bar Taco to anyone. It's casual and the service wasn't bad either. The check was also a peasant surprise as we had a full lunch for two, without drinks, for less than $30.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RcikS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deliciouso”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fun atmosphere. Food is fresh and very tasty. It is great for an evening out with friends or a nice family meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank essk2x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bartaco Westport also viewed

 

Been to bartaco Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing