We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu”

The Spotted Horse Tavern
Ranked #3 of 165 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Redding, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just visited for the first time and loved the food. The lunch menu had many great options and servings were generous. We sat inside, a little dark but very rustic. The outdoor patio is wonderful on a beautiful day. Enjoy a delicious meal then stroll Main Street, a great time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWhoHatesToCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    84
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Located on a pretty little side street in downtown Westport, this cozy restored house just beckons one to come in and eat! We ate outside because it was a beautiful day and the service was fantastic. I ordered a Craft Burger which was amazing! Yes, you might say it was just a burger but the meat is from the local butcher, Craft Butcher which only carries the best in farm raised, organic meats. Delicious! My husband had the mac and cheese and a sandwich and loved them both. Worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Divine, So Noisy”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What can I say? Everyone I know is crazy for the fantastic contribution that the owners have made to Westport, Southport and Fairfield in their Spotted Horse, Gray Goose and Chelsea restauarants. They consistently offer the most delicious and distinctive foods, with unique sauces, at a very fair price - all contributors to their waiting line popularity. Yet the one thing everyone I know also says is that - if you can't eat outside (which is tough in the long cold months) it's intolerable to bear the terrible acoustics. Supposed Spotted Horse attempted an improvement, but we can't tell yet. Can't anyone stop the noise pollution where our ears hurt and our throats are sore shouting, and we can't have conversations? Otherwise, we'd eat there constantly, meanwhile, seek out whatever off times we can sneak in, just to be able to get a table or hear each other here or at The Goose.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmateurCritic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great casual dining and ambience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

In a restored Federal house with a large open feel, The Spotted Horse Tavern provides great casual dining and service. The menu is extensive and the food is very good. The noise level can be a bit high and there is a large bar area that can get rather loud. The interior is well done and there is an outdoor terrace.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had been wanting to try this place for months since it opened, but were never able to find a close by parking spot. There is no parking lot and street parking is rarely available. But on a recent saturday we lucked out -- or thought we had. We got a parking spot and were seated by a surly maitre d' who used to work at a nearby italian restaurant and we believe had been let go because of his lack of social graces. The menu looks tempting, but of the two of us I ordered the burger. It came dry and tasteless. Mcdonald's is better. $12.95. I asked for onions -- they charge $1.00 for extras. My burger came with one teeny tiny onion slice. And the bill for the burger was $13.95. They had actually charged a buck for the thin onion slice. I complained about the tiny, dry burger patty and the buck charge for the miniscule onion slice. The waitress, who was nice, deducted the dollar and said she would let the manager know about the dry burger on the bland bun. And the skinny fries were swimming in salt. The place seems to cater to a noisy, hard drinking yuppie-ish crowd, at least on the saturday afternoon we were there. No plans to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Horse Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Spotted Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing