We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Fish at Riverside”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whelk

The Whelk
Ranked #8 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant by the Chef of LeFarm.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish at Riverside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Whelk on a Friday night gets busy early so we were happy to have had a 6pm reservation. That said, we were not rushed and cocktails through a leisurely meal of multiple small plates followed by entrees kept us at out table until 8:30. The menu offers creative choices in addition to varieties of oysters as starters. Smoked trout spread, not on the menu but suggested by our waiter was amazing, as was the winter salad of pears, fennel, bleu cheese and fresh greens. Shrimp and grits were tasty and spicy. Roasted brussel sprouts with bacon paired with delicately seared scallops made a perfect meal. One of our party ordered the fries as a side which were dangerously irresistible. The delicious French Sauvignon Blanc and the freshness of every dish stays in my mind as a reason to return. The crowd was evidence of the success of The Whelk which offers outdoor river side seating in good weather.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Westport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had heard that The whelk was good but were really impressed. We shared two appetizers and a salad. The fried oysters on deviled eggs were inspired. The White Salad was brilliant. The selection of raw oysters extensive. For main dishes both the cherry smoked cobia and the cod were outstanding. We will certainly return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Wonderful restaurant with imaginative selection of seafood.In the Summer it overlooks the Saugatuck River.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great food, interesting selection, prompt service.
My only complaint is that it is a little noisy and the tables ate pretty close. But if you are looking for good seafood in a less-than-intimate setting, make reservation (highly recommended) and come here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TigerFord7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Oyster Selection in SE CT, Very Hip Westport Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My spouse and I have been here three times, and would eagerly go back, now that we know how to make the experience what we want it to be. The Whelk is arguably the most hip restaurant in Westport, with a long, beautiful white carrera marble bar, cool lighting, and both an excellent raw bar and vast alcohol selection. However, the floors are ceramic tile, so after 6:30pm, this place gets LOUD. We've found that by sitting at the bar in the earlier hours, we get excellent service, a friendly, knowledgeable bartender (Rafa is particularly great), and fantastic food at a non-exorbitant cost. If raw oysters are appealing, this is simply THE place to go for them - they are fresh, freezing cold, they come with a wonderful mignonette as well as lemons and cocktail sauce, and there are usually at least 6 varieties to choose from.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meglion424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whelk also viewed

 

Been to The Whelk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing