We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pane E Bene

Pane E Bene
Ranked #21 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We opened our doors in 2011 in Westport, CT. Pane e Bene stands for bread and goodness. Bread: We use fresh ingredients in our Italian Contemporary cuisine. Goodness: The service is as important as the food. We combine good service and good food to our customers.
connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Love the owner, food is very good, but unfortunately you just cannot hear yourself think! Tables very close...must eat very early to avoid this scene

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of Westport's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pane e Bene is quickly becoming one of Westport's most popular restaurants, if it isn't already--and for good reason. Bottom line: the food is outstanding. Everything is incredibly fresh. The pasta is amazing. I can't say enough good things about the food here.
It is relatively difficult to get a reservation--you won't be able to call on a Friday morning and get a reservation that night. Even if you do get a reservation, be prepared to wait a little bit before you're seated (this has happened the majority of the times I've been there, though not always.) You won't be served your food super fast, but it doesn't take an annoyingingly long amount of time.
The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The restaurant is small and definitely a little crowded at times, but it isn't stressful. In general, the staff is very nice and very knowledgeable, though perhaps a bit harried.
Overall--highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolalit0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm, attentive atmosphere with Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The service at Pane Bene is very attentive and the atmosphere is very warm and inviting but a little cozy. The place always is packed, with reservations booked well in advance. They could use a larger place so the tables are not so close together. Don't blink or you can miss the place - it is hard to see. The food quality is very good - fresh, nicely prepared, with good flavor. Serving size seemed fine for what we ordered in our party, despite other reviews here. Lots of good, upscale italian choices on the menu to pick from. Service was traditional Italian style - never rushed, yet attentive. Take you time to relax and enjoy good food and good company. I will return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank may12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
594 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great meal, bit crowed in, BUT worth it !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Well prepared, very varied ingredients, superb outcome. Menu diverse; hard to choose 1 item to have so many excellent items to pick from. Go with an appetite .. Appetizers unique, main meal whether pasta or meat/fish excellent (prepared & served), deserts well sized. Enter on the side ..... room very small, bit crowded, tight between tables !! Noise level high but you get use to it. Wine suited to you $$range & or your meal. Pricey but worth it!! Parking ok.

Helpful?
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I went for lunch and it was a real treat as if we were dinner. Guests.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8Nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane E Bene also viewed

 

Been to Pane E Bene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing