We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Port in a Storm”
Review of Sherwood Diner

Sherwood Diner
Ranked #9 of 164 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: American
Description: Here's the yelp.com entry: http://www.yelp.com/biz/sherwood-diner-westport
Restaurant details
Description: Here's the yelp.com entry: http://www.yelp.com/biz/sherwood-diner-westport
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Port in a Storm”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were on our way back from the Boston area after our daughter's college gradution and had been on the road to NYC for over four hours. Traffic on I-91, the Wilbur Cross and Merritt was awful because of the weather and we were all hungry. We saw the sign for the Sherwood Diner and pulled off.

My wife is gluten free so when she asked if the vegetable stir fry has soy sauce with gluten in it, the waiter actually brought the bottle over to show her. We all (three of us) found something to eat. The portions were plentiful and the food was more than passable. We did have to wait for a few minutes before the waiter came over, but once he did come over, he was very helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zen3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's a diner! Its good location and food is average. I like the green goddess dressing. The staff is not welcoming.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“For all the times I have been here, I'm surprised that I haven't reviewed before”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Sherwood Diner is a stand-by in Westport. This is the place for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, or late night, if one wants hearty, wholesome food. And, it is a tradition for the theatre crowd at Staples, Weston, Bedford, or Coleytown schools. After a show, you'll find the cast and crew here.

While the base fare is Greek, you can get any food that you're interested in here. The variety of burgers is big, the breakfast meals can be gotten at any time, the specials are always good ... and the Greek dishes are tremendous.

Brunches are a specialty here, and business can be conducted here with a good degree of discretion. As like the old Eastern Shuttle, you see more people doing business here than you might guess, and it is not interrupted.

The staff is not rude, in spite of other reviews state. They are sometimes harried, and sometimes flaky, but they genuinely are nice people who make you feel comfortable. There is no pressure to "turn over" the tables, so you are not forced out, if it is not busy. And, most importantly, it is safe … the Westport police, fire, and EMT personnel have their meals there, so parents feel safe that their kids can be at the Sherwood in the evenings.

I like it here, and I keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WGibson648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Found Bug in soup, management rude”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Would not recommend ever eating here. Found 1 inch bug in chicken escarole soup, brought to attention of server who was very apologetic however when she showed manager, response from manager was "it happens". Server went to manager second time to report our displeasure of finding insect, still no response from management. When we went to pay told manager how displease we were with her lack of apology or addressing the issue and she reported she was waiting for us to come to her. Really!! Worst case of management I have ever seen. She was also rude when we first arrived and had asked her if there was an alternate entrance with a ramp as my mother is elderly and uses a walker. Should have turned around then and gone somewhere else. Food quality was poor, beside the bug that the cook said must have been in the greens, (ever hear of washing them) to the dry lamb , mushy home fries and tasteless pesto a big waste of money, choose anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
288 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Just an OK Diner”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Came with family for late breakfast/early lunch. Expected better in WESTPORT on the POST ROAD but this diner was barely average. Food kind of blah (both breakfast and lunch dishes), service was OK, looked run-down and a bit dirty inside. Needs improvement. I'll keep trying other diners on the Post Road until I find something acceptable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Domino1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sherwood Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing