We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in westport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsu Sushi

Matsu Sushi
Ranked #22 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best sushi in westport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice sunny restaurant in convenient location near library, lots of parking.
Whether sitting at sushi bar or table, I love coming here.
Everything I have ordered has been very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerFord7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny,ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Japanese restaurant in Westport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food is fresh, dishes unique and delicious, very extensive menu. The Japanese waiters/waitresses are very helpful.
It's always busy any time of day. It also looks out onto Jessup Green and the Saugatuck River which is very relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank j-luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I must have ordered the wrong thing based on other reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stopped in last night and ordered a Sushi Sashimi combo and some Ohitashi. The Ohitashi was great. The combo was served with such large chunks of fish that I thought I was in a mid-west buffet. On the a la carte menu they mentioned to specify American or Japanese portion and perhaps they think Americans want their Sashimi to be the size of a steak. The sushi was served too cold, too large and for $27, I would have preferred half as much for $23 and they would have saved money. I have eaten Sushi in many restaurants but have never seen it served with cuts this large before.
The service was good, the decor nice but sushi is meant to be eaten with chop sticks and a single piece at a time. You had to rip these with your hands to fit in your mouth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
177 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Fairfield County!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever we want to have sushi, which is often, we always go to Matsu Sushi. We have never had anything but great sushi there. There are so many sushi restaurants just as close to our house, but we never visit them. Prices are the same as other sushi restaurants in the area. But the sushi is always the freshest! Can't say that about the other places.

Drinks are good and not expensive. They make a great martini!

They are great with kids too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I work in Westport and somedays we can't get out for lunch. Matsu Sushi offers great lunch options and they deliver quick hot meals. I love the chicken teriyaki Bento box for lunch. The food taste so good, fresh and the portion generous with; soup, salad, dumpling, california roll, rice and chicken teriyaki. There are other options too including the full sushi menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWhoHatesToCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Matsu Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing