We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Allendale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had planned to spend Memorial Day Weekend at the Water's Edge Resort as a little getaway. We spent exactly 23 hours there.

We had a first floor suite in the Fenwick Library Building. Upon arrival, we had trouble getting a valet to bring in our luggage and I had to go out and stand in the rain and hail someone driving around in a golf cart. The furniture in the unit was shabby; the walls paper thin. There are balconies, but no furniture for them.

We had problems from the first minute with the toilet flushing poorly and making huge gurgling sounds whenever someone else in the building flushed a toilet. Maintenance came three times and, while they were polite, they were ineffective. When we returned from dinner the toilet didn't flush at all. Maintenance came again and "fixed" the poblem, but the toilet ran all night.

We shared a wall with a function room that was having a religious ceremony all evening and you could hear every clap and shout.

Dinner at the restaurant was good, not great, but not bad.

We checked out at 7 a.m. and the gentleman who took care of it was unsure how not to charge us for the entire planned 4 day stay so it was a lengthy experience with no inquiry as to why we were leaving or if there was anything he could do. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Michele,
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. I hope you will accept my personal apology for the deficiencies in your guest room and that you were unable to get assistance with your luggage quickly.. We take great pride in the cleanliness and maintenance of our property and we have corrected the challenges you encountered with the toilet. I hope you will give us another chance in the near future and take advantage of all the amenities that the Water's Edge Resort & Spa has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    167
    113
    94
    68
See reviews for
205
207
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I attended a bridal shower brunch at Water's Edge and can't complement the food enough. (And I am typically not a brunch person!) The omelets were cooked to perfection and the crepes, made to each person's specifications, were amazing. There was a wide array of food, including large chilled shrimp, fruit, a carving station (or two), and an assortment of desserts.

We were a small group of 10 so were seated in an area with three tables of 10 (or so), separated from the other diners (at plus for them). It was a bit tight moving around the tables to get to the buffet but the area had large windows facing the terrace and sound with a great view.

On the downside, I don't think that the waitstaff was adequate for the three large tables. I never managed to get a second cup of coffee and had to wait until we could flag someone down even for water refills.

However, I do look forward to returning for brunch with my husband on the terrace or in the main dining area. Overall, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed brunch. It sounds like you really enjoyed yourself despite being a "non brunch person." The Water's Edge culinary team will be pleased to hear they were able to changed your perception! Regarding the service, there is no excuse for the issues you encountered and I will review our staffing guidelines with our Restaurant Manager and Food & Beverage Director to correct this matter.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you at our Sunday brunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went there for a wedding at this resort and loved everything about it. The accommodations were very nice and the wedding was wonderful. This place is large and busy but somehow they made you feel like you were well taken care of. The setting is beautiful and magical for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Victoria,

We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the wedding. The Water's Edge Resort is truly a beautiful setting on the Connecticut shoreline but it is our people that makes our resort special. We certainly appreciate hearing about our about staff and I am glad you feel the staff accommodated your needs. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live in CT and have kids, and we are always looking to get away and enjoy time together as a family. Water's Edge is only 1 hour away for us, we define it as "the closest, easiest getaway that feels like vacation". While we go every year, it's far from a perfect vacation spot. Here are some pros and cons:

PROS:
- Easy access, right off i95
- Beautiful views of the sound, very photographic scenery
- Outdoor pool is the main attraction for the kids
- Beach is small but all right for Long Island Sound
- Sitting at the top deck watching the view and listening to a live band is a good experience (except for the food and the service, see below)
- They have kids activities every hour (although they cancel them sometimes)
- They have a small gym and a small indoor pool that can be a life saver on a rainy day

CONS:
- Overpriced
- Staff is not all that friendly (particular the receptionists, some of them seem to hate customer service and want to 'get rid of you')
- Food is mediocre. They use minimum wage, untrained college kids, most of them don't care or don't know how to do their jobs
- Rooms are dated (decore and feature-wise). Old construction, thin walls (you can hear everything...)
- Not very many good options for restaurants in the surrounding areas
- Hotel is mostly used for weddings and graduations. As such, expect your vacation to be disrupted by these events (they take over the park, they make noise at night, etc.)

Bottom-Line
For us, it's simple. A convenient enough location for a weekend get-away every couple of years, but that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorreyPines73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great weekend get away, perfect to take the kids when winter has everyone cooped up inside. Walking on the beach and swimming in the heated pool makes for a happy toddler. We got a free upgrade to the ocean view. Winter special rates were $99/night most nights. Sat nights $169.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am so pleased to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay at the Water's Edge Resort & Spa.. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Throughout the summer please visit our website as we have some great specials and promotions for couples and families alike.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location with friendly staff. I never thought it was possible to mess up French fries. But they did. Fries were not cooked. Lunches on outside patio were terrible too and drinks served in paper cups. Medium burger comes either well done or rare. Surprising for such a nice place. Must be poorly managed since nobody is doing anything to improve. This place has great potential, but for the money, many better options exist!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Administrator12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience. I'm sorry to hear you weren't 100% satisfied with your dining experience in our outdoor restaurant. There is no excuse for the issues you encountered and I will review this with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Director to correct this matter. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you will have a chance to return to our outdoor patio for a positive dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westbrook hotels

New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Need a whole kitchen overhaul. Food good , but inconsistant from one meal to next.. Wait for food takes much too long. Staff was always friendly , professional and courteous. Either not enough kitchen staff, strong leader,or inadequate food on supply....I have visited too often to find food not always up to par and long wait baffling, especially when premises not busy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Management, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Ed,
I would like to take this opportunity to express my apologies for all the problems you encountered during your visit. There is no excuse for the slow food service you have received and I will review this with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Director to correct this matter. I am glad you found the staff to be friendly and I hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
1.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Property: Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing