We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep I've had in a while!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Worcester, ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best sleep I've had in a while!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our annual conference was at the Water's Edge again this year and I was thrilled! I love the Connecticut shoreline and the surrounding areas. I stayed at a suite in the Fenwick building and was very pleased with the cleanliness, spacious layout, and service. It's a smaller property steps from the main lobby and I was able to grab a few groceries (read: 'wine'!) up the road and relax in between conference sessions. Small refrigerator, microwave, mini-kitchen, two flat screen TV's and the most comfortable king-size beds I have slept in! The Spa offers a variety of services for pampering and there are great restaurants near by. (There's a brick oven place 1.4 miles up the road (north) with AMAZING pizza!) The staff at the Water's Edge were very accommodating and extremely helpful. The pool and locker rooms do need some updates and an overall facelift but the pool was clean. I came home rested and refreshed. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicRx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    172
    117
    99
    68
See reviews for
212
216
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in hotel and spa. Paper thin walls in hotel room, awkward layout to hotel. No sound attenuation anywhere...very loud everywhere. Pool and spa was filthy. Spa service was fine but lacked any privacy and had the most "un-relaxing" relaxation room we have ever visited. Seemed overbooked. Sunday brunch was very good, best part of weekend. Dinner in restaurant was disappointing...inexperienced waiter and noise in restaurant was deafening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles_Schuchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at Water's Edge several times during the past few years. We usually rent a timeshare unit for a week during the summer and stay at the same time as friends who own a unit. It is a beach vacation for my family and I love not having to drag all the chairs and umbrellas to the beach. The timeshare units are clean and nice, although somewhat dated. I like having the kitchenette in the rooms to fix a quick breakfast and lunch. The staff who play games and plan activities for the children are fun and engaging. It is not the type of resort where you drop your kids off with the staff, the children's programs expect you to be there with your children. There are lots of families and the good spots on the beach are filled early in the morning. There is a nice lunch counter & bar down by the beach. The beach is usually fairly full and there are kids running around and yelling. Bring your own beach toys.

The Spa is wonderful. The facials are luxurious, especially if you have gotten too much sun. I also enjoyed the best massage. I might skip the nail services, they are a little overpriced.

I have enjoyed many breakfasts and dinners in the main restaurant. The staff is amazing and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The food is upscale and and quite worth the price. We don't eat there every night, but it is a nice treat.

I love my time at Water's Edge and have considered buying a timeshare there. However, they made a mistake when they built those new high end units and tried to sell them. They are overpriced, block part of the view, and are NOT selling. This is a nice family retreat in keeping with the CT shore, not a high end luxury resort in the Carribean. If you are looking for a peaceful adult indulgence, this is not the right resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We left the room in a matter of minutes.

Unsatisfactory:

--) The requested view of the LI sound was very minimal blocked by the building lobby and the villa-s complex. Waterview rooms are more expensive, and as such should deliver exactly that.

--) The bolt lock on the balcony door was not functional (broken).

--) The bathtub tiles were clearly affected by mold (confirmed visually and olfactory)
(captured some pictures with my phone).

No alternative room was offered by management.

Have a small kid, so had to leave.

No hard feelings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
330 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the 2nd time my wife and I have gone to Water's Edge with the "Night to Remember" package.
The pkg is a King room, and a $100.00 credit to use for dinner, brunch, bar or spa - all for $214.00 0 including taxes.
The place is located right on the sound with a small beach you can walk and pick up shells.
The rooms are big and most impt., clean.
The dinner is excellent - limited choices but all quality dishes.
You can use the $100.00 credit up real fast at dinner if u want.
The Sunday brunch was very good as well.

If your looking to getaway for a night or two,relax, at a great value at a great place - try Water's Edge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony A, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. I am excited to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our Night to Remember package a great value for your getaway at the resort.

We look forward to you visiting us again when the weather is a little warmer!

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were in the Westbrook area, and stopped to check out this resort . This hotel is not pet friendly so we will not be able to stay here with our well trained and well traveled Jack Russell, Zoey. The Hotel should consider allowing pets, so they will then open up their hotel to more than half of travelers! So we decided to go in and have a drink. The bartender was great, she made us fresh Bloody Mary mix to enjoy with our delicious
Asparagus soup. The view from our table in the bar was fantastic! We will be sure to stop again for a drink, even if we can not stay, due to the Hotels outdated policy on pets.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy05255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we have gone to the Waters Edge for the last 4 years for their New Year Eve overnight package, we add on additional nights as well. The food, service, rooms and the NYE party are wonderful. I am looking forward to NYE 2015.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgalarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
129 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
23.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Property: Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing