We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many kids running around everywhere!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too many kids running around everywhere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a great example of why one needs to read reviews, and trusting them before making plans! I recall reading a review that how busy the hotel was with birthday parties for 10-12 year olds during their stay... It was the same for me! They were everywhere.. I changed room once since there was a funny noise in my room and the second room had a funny smell.. The fitness room & the pool are connected! The smell of clorine is so strong that you won't be able to walk on the treadmil for long.. The sauna was covered with bathing suites for kids.. and the steam room was not very clean. The spa was all right. I had a good massage and no compalin there! The property is impressive and has waterfront views, but no walk ways on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relativelysolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    167
    113
    94
    68
See reviews for
205
207
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I will start out by saying that for the most part my husband and I enjoy the Waters Edge very much. We have stayed in the hotel and eaten lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch there several times. Unfortunatley our last experience was very dissappointing. My husband made reservations at the restaurant on Feb. 28, 2013, a thursday, to take advantage of the thursday special. Which is dinner and bottle of wine For $60.00. Because of illness we had to reschedule for the next thursday, March 7. No one on the phone or on their website mentioned that the special was not available that thursday. We drove an hour to get there to find out it was restaurant week so they had a fixed menu for $29.00 each no wine included. I explained to the waitress what happened expecting her to say that they would honor the original deal, but no way. I had to ask for the manager who also said that he could not do that. He could offer us two glasses of wine with dinner. I am so dissapointed that the management would not graciously offer us the original deal and have to say this left me with a bad taste for the whole experience. Not a good night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westbrook hotels

Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stay here every spring for the last 4 years -- both in time sharing (RCI) and the hotel. This is an excellent resort with a great view of the ocean. Many weddings a day happen during peak season so try not to get a bedroom adjacent to the gazebos. Loud music/guests can go on a bit late. Great bar and good restaurant.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We come to Water's Edge every year on a spa relaxation package. Restaurant is top notch, rooms are perfectly fine and spa is good depending on your masseuse. If you want an amazing deep tissue massage, make an appointment with Susan. We enjoy our yearly stay here. In the summer, you have a lovely beach on Long Island Sound. Rooms could use updating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I took advantage on the Nite away package that they were offering on their website. For $199 plus taxes we got a standard room and a $100 food credit. The room was clean and quiet. We took advantage of use of the pool and hot tub. We ate dinner at the main restaurant which was very good, sharing the charcuterie plate, I had the filet mignonette and he had the pork oso buco. Drinks were a little pricey so our bill came to a bit over the $100 but was simply added to our room charge. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was a nice relaxing night away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jsmith8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was totally uninspiring. The decor was dated, the layout of the property was awkward and the advertised specials left the staff seemingly confused. If you simply need a place to stay in the Westbrook area, this would be fine, however if you're hoping for the "WOW!" factor, don't bother going here. One of my travel pet-peeves is when a hotel advertises a special and upon your arrival, they feign total ignorance. In this case, The Water's Edge advertised
Sliders Wednesday
Try a variety of tasty sliders, prices from $7 - $9 a piece
Plus, all draft beer only $3 every Wednesday night.

When we arrived at the bar, we were told this special was from 5-7pm...Hmmm. What part of EVERY WEDNESDAY NIGHT did we miss??
Just a small annoyance. In the bigger scheme of things, go someplace else. This just isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darlyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We came here for a wedding and stayed for three days/two nights.

The hotel was very pricey, but it was expected as it's a high-end resort, however it didn't really live up to its expectations. Walking in, the lobby was fancy and the check-in was quick and simple. The dining and bar areas were very nice with fountains and expensive art. Although the rooms were nice, it seemed like your basic hotel room--nothing too fancy.

The rooms were nothing special. They were your basic hotel room with two queen beds, a desk, tv, etc. One plus was that the rooms were connected, which was great for having events here.

The bathrooms were very nice with marble everything, lots of space, and a mountain of towels.

The dining was something to brag about. The food was top of the line and there were plenty of drinks. The bar was really nice as well, and although the kitchen closed around eleven at night, they provided you with snacks.

This is a great place for a large group of people for events. We wouldn't necessarily recommend coming here just for a place to stay--you could probably find a cheaper hotel with the same quality of stay (without the "high-end" parts)

Room Tip: Good for events, such as weddings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGTravels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
1.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Property: Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing