We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginiaq
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Seven of us traveled to Westbrook for a wedding at Capt Stannard House. MaryAnne, Jim and Helen treated us like royalty for the entire weekend. Breakfasts are fresh and gourmet with beautiul place settings; the rooms are each a little jewel with comfortable beds; coffee/decaf, tea, mulled cider, soft drinks always available. We will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNKVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
78
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Just back from our annual fall weekend escape from NYC. This year we stayed at the Captain Stannard House and enjoyed it very much. My wife and I felt very much at home and enjoyed the generous public areas. We stayed in the Barque Daniel Webster room and found it clean, comfortable and quiet. The entire B&B is spotless and great attention is put into every possible detail. Many thanks to Jim, Mary and Helen for a wonderful weekend stay. I would highly recommend the Captain Stannard House and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B and for sure was the best decision we made for our 20th Anniversary. Mary, Helen and Jim were wonderful and their attention to detail was amazing! The Inn is absolutely beautiful not to mention the home made breakfasts and treats when you returned to your room. They are in a perfect location, not far from Mystic or the casinos. There is so much history in the area that even though we packed in so much, we didn't even make a dent. Definately worth going back, not only to stay with the Brewsters but to see more in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We found this place traveling from Boston to JFK. It was few days too late. Founding it earlier we would stay there for longer. Everything we needed was waiting for us. We could play pool drinking beer. Big tarace was open for long evening conversations. And breakfast - unusual for US, homemade and served like in five stars restaurant. Hopefully will come back for longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pysiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins Creek, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

Our stay at Captain Stannard House was wonderful - Jim, Mary & Helen did an outstanding job of being our hosts. We couldn;'t have asked for more. Our rooms were spotless and beautiful. Our family gathered from Friday until Sunday. We didn't have to go anywhere else. Our memories will be cherished for a long time. Not to mention wonderful breakfasts. Our entire family stayed the weekend and each one loved being there. Our money was well spent.

Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beleau55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Mary and Jim Brewster know hw o make people feel good -- and look good! We co-chaired a Book Club Weekend at the Inn, and besides giving us the run of the house, they met every one's needs! The service breakfasts and accommodations were wonderful (the bed linens most luxurious),including wonderful public space for our 30 member group to gather...and have dinner on the porch. Their recommended restaurants were superb and our guests left reluctantly, but happily. Innkeepers should take a lesson!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Our book club stayed at the Inn for a long weekend (Thursday-Sunday). We had the place to ourselves, as we booked all the rooms. Mary, Jim, and Helen were delightful and made us feel welcome. They helped us make group reservations at two excellent restaurants (Boom and Cafe Routier). The food at both of these restaurants was outstanding-only topped by the delightful breakfasts served at the Inn, and the tasty pasties left in our rooms everyday. Helen, Jim and Mary even helped us set up for our afternoon wine and cheese social (they allowed us to bring in our own wine). The Inn did provide tea, water, soda. They treated us like old friends and very gracious. They knew how to make everyone in the group feel like old friends. I

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlerRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
8.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Property: Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Address: 138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing