We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Memorial weekend 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our Memorial weekend 2012”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Capt Stannard House over the 2012 Memorial day week end. The room was fresh and clean with fresh baked/warm cookies there upon our arrival. Jim and Mary were wonderful as they provided plently of insight to the house and surrounding area as well as space to enjoy the openness of their wonderful home. The back porch is awesome with their resident robin flying in to entertain as we shared a bottle of wine relaxing.. Breakfast was a treat w/ all the attention to detail you could want. I would recommend this as a must stay to those that enjoy a warm and spacious setting w/ just the right touch of kindness.

Room Tip: They all have their own charm so no bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
79
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My daughter's Wedding Reception was recently held in Westbrook Ct. We rented the Stannard Inn for our Rehearsal Dinner and also to have our Wedding party and family stay for two nights. Our experience was incredible! The owners, Jim and Mary Brewster are wonderful people. They assisted us in every possible way, and made us feel like we were at home during our entire stay. The Inn is immaculate! Every room is neat and clean and decorated beautifully. Jim and Mary serve the most delicious breakfast that any of our guests have ever tasted!! We wanted the whole experience of my daughter's Wedding to be beautiful. Our stay at the Stannard Inn, coupled with the genuine kindness that we received from Jim and Mary, made it perfect. We would all highly recommend the Stannard Inn for any event or simply as a special place to stay.

Room Tip: We found all of the rooms to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank co51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed this weekend at the Capt Stannard House with my son and daughter in law and couldn"t be more pleased. From the warm greetings from Mary and Jim (the owners) and seeing this lovely home that they take so much pride in, we knew it was the right choice. The beach is a block away and the Inn supplies you with towels,chairs and bottled water for you convenience..Now to the food!! The homemade brownie bites in your room were to die for,, but it was hard to eat just one!!! The breakfast was spectacular.and much more elegeant then your average B & B and so much better. Thanks so much Mary and Jim for being so accommodating and giving us a wonderful family getaway.Jayne & Bernie

Room Tip: check out the website. Some have eves so if you are tall ask for rooms with flat ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My whole family, 5 daughters, spouses and some family friends, all stayed at the Captain Stannard Bed and Breakfast over the President's Day long weekend. We were celebrating our oldest Daughter's 40th birthday and Jim and Mary were the most pleasant and accomodating Innkeepers we have ever met! My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's over the years but,I have to say, that they made sure our experience at their B&B the most relaxing ever! We not only took up most of the rooms, but we had a caterer come in one night for a formal, sit down dinner. Jim and Mary made sure it went without a hitch. Mary's happy face and attitude made us feel completely at home and Jim regaled us at breakfast one morning (at our request) with stories of the Inn. We plan to return next year for a family reunion

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited in February of the current 'non-winter' for an extended family gathering. While my wife and I are not normally B&B travelers, our experience may change our minds in the future. Our group traveled from California, Texas, Arizona, New Hampshire, Maine and Connecticut and absolutely felt like were visiting the home of a favorite aunt and uncle. Mary and Jim absolutely made us feel at home. The great room and pool table got much use and we even tried, not too successfully, to 'help' complete the puzzle. Breakfast was excellent and our rooms were clean and very comfortable. If you visit, ask Mary about the sheet music in the dining room and Jim about Lily.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_and_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smittyd23
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited the Captain Stannard House last October to celebrate our One Year Wedding Anniversary. It was the perfect place to get away for the weekend and not have to actually travel that far from our home. The Inn is beautiful and you feel right at home walking into the living room with the fireplace, couches and jigsaw puzzle laying out. The back porch is stunning and the perfect place to spend a sunny fall afternoon sipping on cider. Jim and Mary are just incredible. They are extremely welcoming, friendly, and very informative on what there is to see and do in the area. We looked forward to just chatting with them at breakfast each morning. And breakfast is just delicious! It is always a lovely surprise to see what kind of scrumptious dish we would be served each day. Everything was just perfect, and we can't wait to visit with our friends Mary & Jim again soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smittyd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited the Captain Stannard House in between a couple of long business trips and it was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway. The inn was quiet, breakfast was excellent and the owners and staff were incredibly nice and helpful. I look forward to getting back there in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.4 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Property: Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Address: 138 S Main St, Westbrook, CT 06498-1904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing